So, in case you haven’t heard, Pokemon Go released across the world last week. I went and took a walk at lunch hour yesterday, which I never do, soooo success? Gotta catch them all.

It’s actually quite a phenomenon – the game is getting worldwide attention from traditional media. It’s actually now has a bigger active base than Twitter and Tinder. That’s saying something! Is it the brand? Is it the augmented reality/virtual-world-in-the-real-world? Discuss!

Thursday, 10:08 am – Gavin

Oh man, terrible absence for me from the site!  I’ve been falling behind on other chores and obligations – my apologies.

A million things have been written about Pokemon Go since its release.  I’ve been slowly and casually playing on lunch breaks and walks to the bus stop and what have you.  It’s a blast…when the damn thing works.  Half the planet is playing Pokemon Go and the other half is just waiting for it to be released in their region.  It often has trouble logging me in during the evening, when the entirety of Toronto is playing it, and on more than one occasion, it has struggled to register my GPS signal.

Nevertheless, as my first AR game, I find it to be quite fun, even if the gameplay is limited.  As a thing that gets me up and about, it can’t be all bad, right?  I know it’s not the first game to tread this ground – Ingress has been out for two and a half years – but to incorporate a major IP into the fold?  That’s an accomplishment.  I wonder what could be done to make a game like this more real-time.  Take a 3DS out into the wild and overlay Mario characters that you take out with flowers you find along the way, perhaps?  I don’t know, I’m just rambling.

I haven’t had a whole ton of time for gaming lately as I was out of town last weekend.  I’m still bumbling along with The Witcher 3.  No major updates on this one – I still have a loooooooooong way to go in that game.  It’s not that I’m not enjoying it, but it’s not living up to the insane hype it received so far.  I’m sure it will get better, but I find my time in that game is very meandering.  I had the same thing in Skyrim as well, but Skyrim clicked better for me – combat felt better and the world felt more diverse on its face (You can travel from lush greenery to white mountains in one sequence, whereas in The Witcher 3, Velen always looks like Velen and White Orchard always looks like White Orchard, etc.).

All in all, I’m not upset that I’m playing it, but if I dropped it next week, I’m not certain how I’d feel.  I have until the end of August anyway, because that’s when Deus Ex: Mankind Divided comes out!

Tuesday, 11:00 am – Ricky

More walking for this guy!

