Have you ever played a game for a couple hours and thought “Man, this just isn’t fun”? But then you decide to push through for a couple more hours only to hit the “a-ha” moment of “Ah, NOW it’s fun!”. 

It happens to me from time to time. I don’t give up on games easily, especially critically acclaimed ones. Fallout 4 was like that for me for maybe the first 15 hours – I just wasn’t feeling it. But I know Albert and matt both love it, and it was super popular with reviewers, so I thought two things: 1) What’s wrong with me? and 2) I should go a little longer. Now I’m at over 30 hours and I’ve definitely “found the fun” in FO4, but had I given up, I would’ve missed some genuinely cool moments.

What’s your line in the sand for when you choose to abandon or push through a game? Is it a “fun threshold”? Or a certain number of hours? Something else?

Wednesday, 8:12 am – Gavin

I’m pretty adamant about having a fun threshold.  At the end of the day, gaming is a hobby for me.  It’s something I do for fun – I have enough chores to do around the house, and I have a job that I work during the day.  So, while I accept that games can’t always start at 100% because that’s just not how they all work, I’m not prepared to dump a ton of time into a game just out of the hopes that it gets good.  Like, when Ricky says that he played Fallout 4 for 15 hours before it got good for him, that’s nuts to me!  15 hours is a decent length for a AAA game, let alone the point at which a game becomes fun!  I appreciate that it got good for you, but that’s too much of a gamble for me.

If you aren’t having fun with a game and aren’t certain if you want to finish it, don’t feel afraid to just write it off.  I’ve done that plenty of times, with games that I reasonably should have loved, like Wind Waker and Majora’s Mask.

Anyway, not much gaming for me this week.  We bought a dog!  The dog is a holy terror and we need to spend a lot of time training and socializing it.  So, gaming is on hold for now.

Tuesday, 12:30 pm – Ricky

Late! I’m late! I’m late for an important date!

I can’t believe I just wrote that.

