With 2015 more than officially in the books, we look back on the year and try to figure out a way to award stuff we like. Sometimes it makes sense, sometimes it’s just a nice way for us to say “I like this, it speaks to me, it’s cool”. Check out our Game of the Year page here!

Friday, 7:51 am – Ricky

I have played through Dr. Langeskov, The Tiger, and the Terribly Cursed Emerald, and I totally agree with Gavin: play this “game”. It won’t take you long, and it’ll leave you with a smile on your face.

I played a bit more Fallout 4 yesterday while waiting for my wife to come home. The game runs buttery smooth on my PC (i7 4770K at stock speeds, GTX 970 and 16 GB of RAM) and I haven’t encountered a bug in 4 cumulative hours of play so far. That said, yesterday’s two hour session was comprised of 1) hunting for materials to build generators (wind and oil), then 2) hunting for materials to build power towers, 3) wiring it all together, 4) cleaning up debris in my city, and 5) mentally planning where I want to put my new buildings. I have a very bad feeling that I’m actually going to spend a MASSIVE amount of time doing the settlement building in this game…

Also, I shot some bloatflies. Fucking bloatflies.

Tuesday, 10:24 am – Gavin

This weekend was fairly quiet on the gaming front for me as well, but I was lucky enough to get some time on Sunday to knock a few things out, including a bit of Helldivers, some more Yoshi’s Woolly World, and then easily the most interesting thing this weekend, a runthrough of Dr. Langeskov, The Tiger, and the Terribly Cursed Emerald.  Enough has been said about the former two, but let’s spend some time on the latter.

I’ll do my best to write this without any spoilers, because it’s one that requires you to go in blind.  If you don’t want to read anything, then skip this post entirely.  Dr. Langeskov was developed by Crows Crows Crows, a team headed by William Pugh, co-designer of The Stanley Parable.  That should tell you everything that you need to know about what type of game you’re getting into.  The concept is stunningly simple – it’s basically The Truman Show (highlight for spoilers), but it’s executed in a way that is accessible and familiar to anyone with even the slightest interest in how games work.

Perhaps more impressive than that, it’s funny.  Like, actually funny, with good vocal delivery, comedic timing, and good writing.  To that end, the last game that was as consistent as this, coincidentally enough, was The Stanley Parable, but that one was more droll, whereas this one is more funny the way that Portal 1 and 2 were funny.  There are substantial similarities between Wheatley from Portal 2 and the narrator from Dr. Langeskov.

It’s hard to describe anything else about the game without spoiling the conceit of the game, so I’ll have to shut it for now.

It’s a short experience, not unlike Thirty Flights of Loving.  All told, it took me about 20 minutes from start to finish.  It’s 616mb, so over a decent-speed internet connection, you will have the game downloaded and installed in about five minutes.  If you enjoyed The Stanley Parable, which you did because you’re smart, then you will also enjoy this.  My advice: take time and look at things!  There’s a lot of buried humour here.

Monday, 11:17 am – Ricky

No gaming this weekend for me, safe for some “old school” board games. Update: Settlers of Catan and Dominion are still excellent.

