Star Wars is out in theatres, and every 2015 video game that matters has released. Time to enjoy the holidays indoors and isolated from everyone and everything. Or go outside. What am I, your mother?

Monday, 1:58 pm – Gavin

Aw, no love for Hatoful Boyfriend: Holiday Star, the second pigeon-dating sim game?  It releases tomorrow!

Well, the pop-culture talk is all about Star Wars this week, and fair play – it’s probably the biggest single movie release in ages.  This isn’t a movie website, but if you have even a passing affinity for Star Wars, you owe it to yourself to see The Force Awakens.  It’s excellent.

Last week was my birthday, and I was graciously given a copy of Axiom Verge.  I’d heard much about it as the next hot Metroidvania game, and it definitely doesn’t let down in that regard.  Gameplay aesthetics, and the general mechanical and systemic feel of the game make almost a 1:1 copy of Super Metroid.  There’s a story to the game that I won’t get into here, but it’s strikingly compelling, even if I’m currently stuck in a backtracking loop as I try to find the next item that will help me progress.

I managed to spend 6.5 hours playing it yesterday.  I don’t know how I did it, but I’m impressed with myself.  It’s very different from Yoshi’s Woolly World – it’s much darker and the aesthetic is much more stripped down, like it’s halfway between Metroid 1 and Super Metroid, except for the bosses, which are terrifically detailed.

If you’re a Metroid fan, get on this train!

Monday, 12:52 pm – Ricky

I’ll be around off and on throughout the next couple weeks, but we’ll likely just all come back together in the new year with our Game of the Year picks!

