With the release of Madden 16 this week, we’re planting our flags: Best sports video game of all time? Go.

Friday, 9:56 am – Gavin

Look, there’s a reason that the NHL series of games allows for NHL 94 controls.  NHL 94 > everything else.

It’s a tough call because there are so many classics, but also because I haven’t played a sports game in forever.  NBA Jam, Amped 2, Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater whatever-version-is-best, they’re all fabulous, and it all depends on what sports you like to play, if you consider racing a sport (which it totally is), and if you consider PvP combat a sports game (Fight Night yes, Smash Bros. no).

Part of my problem with picking the best sports game is that…I don’t play sports games.  There’s a couch co-op element to it that I haven’t been able to wrangle in quite some time, as an adult with grown-up commitments.  I was and still am a solo gamer, so sports games have never really and fully appealed to me.  That’s not to say that there aren’t great sports games; it’s just that many of them don’t end up on my radar.

However, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that the best sports game of all time is Wii Sports.  Nobody didn’t have fun with Wii Sports.  It’s definitely the most accessible sports game of all time as it’s easy to pick up and learn, the variety of sports included allowed for longer play sessions, but the length of each particular game allowed for one-and-done play sessions.

Monday, 9:13 am – Ricky

The correct answer is NHL 98 on the Sega Genesis. Just look at that attention to detail!

