Rocket League has taken the summer by storm. It was a free Playstation Plus game for the month of July, and it has been a top-seller on Steam for the last couple of weeks. I’m not sure how long the game will “last”, but for now, it’s a ton of fun. 

There’s really nothing more to this post than to extol the virtues of cars playing soccer.

Wednesday, 1:45 pm – Gavin

Best part of Gamescom for me so far is Mirror’s Edge!

You all know how much I loved the first one and thought it was one of the best-designed games of the generation.  This trailer seems to have toned down the bright daylight, but has retained the sharp use of colour in delineating setpieces.  It’ll be really interesting to see how this one goes.  It’s supposedly open-world, which is a change from the mostly linear ME 1.  It’s a prequel/reboot/reimagining/not-direct-sequel to ME, so they’re going to take some liberties, but not a ton.  They’ve changed Faith’s voice actor, which will be a change, but nothing particularly tough to deal with.  Looking forward to it!

They’ve been releasing more information, but I’ve been studiously avoiding anything about Deus Ex: Mankind Divided.  I went in to Human Revolution nice and blind, and ended up absolutely adoring it.  I trust I will have the same experience with Mankind Divided.

Wednesday, 9:13 am – Ricky

Wow, I didn’t know Gamescom was this week! All the trailers are mine.

Say hello to fighter squadron mode for Star Wars Battlefront: 10 vs. 10 aerial dogfighting (plus bots), including the MILLENNIUM FALCON. My goal in life right now is to not die before November 17th.

Oh, and here’s a pretty trailer of a pretty game, Anno 2025.

Tuesday, 8:23 am – Ricky

Here’s some Rocket League for you to enjoy.

