We’re already one conference in. If you’re just tuning in, Bethesda showed off A TON of Fallout 4. Later today, we’ll see what Microsoft, Sony, and the other massive publishers have to share at their pressers. Reddit has a great list of streaming times and locations if you’re interested in watching live. 

Let the games begin.

Friday, 11:36pm – Albert

This is basically Ricky’s wet dream.

Wednesday, 8:01 am – Ricky

This is the only trailer you will ever need to watch.

This is going to be one of my guaranteed 2 game pick-ups this fall, along with Fallout 4. I really have dreamed about a Star Wars game of this size and scope since I was a kid, and to have it coming out in just a handful of months is amazing. Coupled with the new movie this year, I’m with Gavin: It really is an incredible time to being alive.

*cue “We like being alive” to the tune of “Farmer in the dell”*

Wednesday, 1:20 am – Albert

I’m just going to keep posting amazing videos that in case you missed it (or just want to watch it again) it’s all here. Also apparently Shenmue and remake FF … awesome?

First up! New South Park:

New Metal Gear (This is for matt):

Ghost Recon Wildlands:

Tuesday, 6:33 pm – Albert

BONUS! I hope they have the Reeaaapppeerssss. Worst/Best voice acting ever. Made me want to punch a baby. But here’s this!

Tuesday, 4:24 pm – Albert

I am just catching up on some news since I haven’t been able to catch these conferences live but I definitely some some amazing things coming out of E3. As for the backwards capabilities… I think I might be in the minority here but I never really cared for it. By the time the “latest” console has backwards capabilities I couldn’t care less. I feel that I always play a game when I want to and then I never return. I know that Gavin and I are completely different gamers. He’s played Deus Ex (all of them) more than I have played video games! This might have to do with me being a PC guy too. We always have that ability to play whatever we want no matter what year it came out (thank you GOG.com).

And now, for something completely different:

Tuesday, 9:25 am – Gavin

I started out yesterday, preparing to be underwhelmed.  Or at the very best, simply whelmed.  I have to say that Microsoft caught me by surprise though.  One of the biggest issues I have with upgrading consoles is the lack of backwards compatibility.  I liked that it existed in previous generations (360, OG PS3 fatboy, and Wii were all BC) and I appreciate that the Wii U includes it as it uses similar architecture to the Wii.  However, no BC for the Xbox One or PS4 was a large factor in me not expressing much interest in them, as I still like my 360 games, and there’s a big library of PS3 games worth playing.

So, Microsoft pooped on that idea by announcing BC for the Xbox One.  It will be gradually implemented, but as of today, subject to an OS update, it’s available for Preview members.  The compatible list is small right now – 24 titles, only a couple of which were major retail releases – but if it grows to include Fable 2, the Gears trilogy, COD 4, and the Mass Effect trilogy* **, then that will really appeal to me.

*ME 1 is available as of today
**This criteria is discarded if EA releases a remastered ME trilogy, which has apparently been discussed.

Now, I’m not an enormous fan of the MS major games.  Halo, Forza (as unbelievably gorgeous as it was), Fable Legends, none of that really appealed to me.  However, I do have a moderate investment in the MS ecosystem, having owned the two previous MS consoles.  The BC, coupled with a few major titles that will be released and a couple of independent games that looked terrific are likely to push me over the edge.

I always said that five games would be required for me to invest in a new console.  As of now, by 2016, I’m looking at this list for the XBO:

  • Mass Effect: Andromeda
  • Deus Ex: Mankind Divided
  • Mirror’s Edge: Catalyst
  • Cuphead. What an incredible-looking game!  This aesthetic is so fresh – straight Max Fleischer-style animation.  I had a difficult time believing that they’d actually crafted that.  I’m really looking forward to this one.
  • King’s Quest.  BRING ME ALL THE NOSTALGIA.
  • Unravel.  How adorable was this trailer, and the incredibly nervous presenter who spoke about it?  It brought some wonderful levity to the otherwise conventional EA conference.
  • Tacoma.  I was an enormous Gone Home fan, so I have faith that Fullbright will do this one justice as well.

I’m a touch disappointed that Firewatch won’t be making it to the XBO, but eh, these things happen.

This is, of course, to say nothing of the MS Hololens.  I will never own that thing because it’s probably too expensive, but what a time to be alive that it exists!  Listening to the crowd’s reaction as the presenters played around in a 3D Minecraft environment (that camera setup was fascinating) was delightful.  They invented the Holodeck!

I’m excited for the Nintendo conference today.  I’m also worried, because it sounds like 2016 is going to be a very expensive year.

At least I haven’t bought anything during the Steam sale!

Monday, 4:50 pm – Albert

Bethesda’s first press conference was end-to-end amazing. Doom looked incredible and of course my favorite: Fallout was just ridiculous. I think what I appreciated the most was that they announced it and we only have to wait until November 10th, 2015. Customization seemed to be the theme of Fallout 4. Everything from guns, armor, and settlements! WHAT. They know exactly what I want. It is like they created this game entirely for me. They obviously have learnt a lot from their DLC in Skyrim. I’m going to call Fallout 4: GOTY right now. But then again Ricky reminded me of X-COM 2… so… yeah.

Monday, 8:42 am – Ricky

No time to play games this weekend, but that’s ok: I’ll get my daily dose of gaming via over-produced (and sometimes under-produced!) press conferences.

Check out the Fallout 4 portion of the Bethesda press conference here. I also downloaded the mobile game Fallout Shelter, which released last night after the conference. It looks like an interesting base-building and management game. It’s going to be the year of Fallout, for sure.

