The Witcher 3 comes out next week. It seems like the kind of game I would love to have played as a teen/young adult, when time wasn’t really an issue and I had a thirst for meaty RPGs.

Now in my fully formed adult incarnation, I’m still pretty enthusiastic about the launch – I hope it does well, and that people enjoy it. I will probably never get to experience it. It’s just a fact of life: Too many games, too little time. But do you ever wonder what you’re missing? What kind of unique gaming experiences, beautifully crafted worlds, engaging stories and compelling characters you’re not being exposed to? Or are you happy playing what you want, what you have time and energy for, and forgetting the rest?

Thursday, 5:29 pm – matt

two things: boo Konami. Its unfortunate the company is shutting down, but made too many bad decisions and didn’t ever try to create “new franchises”, just keep piggybacking off past glory.

The Konami Kode will be their greatest memory in gaming.

second, all hail the console master race:

http://ca.ign.com/articles/2015/05/14/grand-theft-auto-5-mods-angry-planes-and-noclip-infected-with-virus

Thursday, 11:29 am – Gavin

At this point in my life, I’m working with the mantra of “I can’t miss it if I never had it”.  With less and less time to play the new stuff (and a plethora of old titles that deserve replaying), I’m just cutting my losses and running.  I have no doubt that the litany of other titles I haven’t touched would be games that I’d enjoy – the list of things I haven’t played is too long to even bother starting.

I do hope for the Witcher series to be successful, if for no other than the tautological reason than there are very few titles that I actively want to see fail.  Gaming doesn’t have to be zero-sum equation – I can enjoy my stuff while someone else’s stuff is successful.  When I think about some of the fabulous games that haven’t been as successful, it makes me sad because a) I want more of those games, and b) the developers worked really hard on it, and it must be crushing to helm a well-received game that is a sales disappointment (see: Psychonauts).

I have no problem skipping a game and watching a runthrough of it to get the sense of it, if my curiosity ends up exceeding my lack of desire to play it.  I’m extremely unlikely to pick up a copy of a game that I don’t actively want to play at this point in my life, but this is a place where a LP may actually be beneficial for me (“beneficial”, anyway – I mean it would entertain me, but it’s not likely to enrich my life).

I view it the same way that I view movies.  I haven’t seen many modern movies, and that’s A-OK.  I don’t have a lot of TV-watching time, so if I have to pass on something in favour of something else, then I’ll do that.  The extent of the Marvel universe movies that I haven’t seen is enormous (Thor, Captain America 1 and 2, and Guardians of the Galaxy – I haven’t seen any Iron Man, Thor 2, either of the Avengers, either of the Hulk movies, etc).  And that’s OK – I’m sure they’re all really entertaining, but I just haven’t got the desire to watch them, in much the same way that I haven’t got the desire to play Unity, or The Witcher, or Civ V, or Destiny, or Bloodborne, or Shadow of Mordor, etc.

To that end, my list of titles to which I am looking forward is small, and it’s great precisely because it’s so small.  It’s manageable!  I won’t be falling behind, and that’s good, because it’s not like I’m going to get more time to play games.  With King’s Quest, Firewatch, and Yoshi’s Woolly World coming out this year, and Zelda U, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Mirror’s Edge 2, Mass Effect 4, and a hypothetical Splinter Cell title to come in the future, I’m pretty much set.  I’m not going to need much else for years to come!

In other crappy news, looks like Konami as we knew it is dead, and Konami the mobile games developer has arisen.  Konami posted this, originally in Japanese and translated into English via NeoGAF:

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1046059

A sad demise for the once-great developer.  Not that mobile gaming isn’t a noble pursuit, of course – it’s just that Konami’s rich history for home console development sadly wasn’t enough to keep them afloat.  Metal Gear Solid V will be released, but that’s likely to be the end of their IP as we have known them.

Monday, 2:03 pm – Ricky

I’m… actually interested in how Splatoon does. I think someone posted about it a couple weeks ago, but there was an open beta this weekend and lots of footage up now. Check out the video below for a great overview:

Monday, 8:27 am – Ricky

I think I’m even more irked by series that I do try to keep up with, like Assassin’s Creed. I have yet to play last year’s release, Unity, and I’ve heard good-ish things about last years OTHER release and the true sequel to Black Flag, Rogue. Plus, now there are the 2D sidescrolling games – it’s all too much. I don’t want Assassin’s Creed to be the only series I play all year, but I also don’t want to miss out on any of the action or world development. What’s a guy to do?

For The Witcher 1, I actually just watched a full playthrough on YouTube. I’m honestly contemplating doing the same for The Witcher 2, but I think friend-of-the-site Ash would kill me for “skipping it”. That said, even if I do watch someone else play the game, there are many other games that I already own that I would want to play before picking up The Witcher 3.

