Zelda U was delayed to 2016 last week. It’s the worst possible news for Zelda fans and for Wii U owners. While it’s not common for Nintendo to delay an announced game, it is pretty common for the video game industry.

It’s not such a big deal when you know nothing about the game. But when you consume all of the pre-release media, a game can become one of you good buddies you look forward to seeing and hearing about.

How do you deal with pre-release video game coverage, and by extension, with game delays?

Thursday, 4:20 pm – Gavin

Just a quick update from me this week.  I’m playing the original Legend of Zelda on 3DS right now, and holy hell is that game ever unforgiving.  I can imagine that this would have provided players with tons of playing time, because it’s so unforgiving, unintuitive in parts, and generally huge.  Perhaps it hurt that I didn’t have a manual to go along with it as it was a digital download, but it’s tough to the point of not being fun at times.  A Link to the Past is such a significant improvement over it that it’s difficult to go back and play this.  I respect the roots of the series, but this is a slog.

I’m also playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution: Director’s Cut: Colon on the Wii U.  Absolutely the definitive version of the game, I must say – the game pad functionality is superb and it flows and controls well.  I’m glad I tracked down a copy of it – I understand that it’s out of print now.  It sold very poorly on the Wii U, in the thousands I think (for justifiable reasons – when it came out, it was a good $20 more expensive than the other console versions, and most people who wanted to play it had already picked it up, to the point that all versions of DEHRDC:C undersold).

Sad to hear about Zelda U being pushed back, but that’s OK – it’s not like I have a mountain of gaming time anyway, so I’ll just chug along with what I’ve got going on until it comes out.  I have Yoshi’s Woolly World coming out this fall anyway, and that will eat up a lot of my time, I’m sure.

Wednesday, 7:30 am – Ricky

PSA: DON’T BELIEVE THE INTERNET TODAY!

I was taking a look back at one of our old posts from April 1st 2013 (because it had a spam comment, so I deleted it and read the post instead). Game companies are pretty notorious about this day – I’m both excited and scared to see what “news” comes out today.

matt, I actually got a free copy of Dead Space 2 because of the SimCity 2013 debacle. But yes, SimCity 4 was one of the options, which was super weird (“You want SimCity? Well, here’s one for free! We’ll just stand over here and go out of business while you enjoy the old version”).

So, I played Super Mario 3D World yesterday. It’s not the first time I’ve played it – Gavin has given me a few tastes of the game at his place. I made my way through the first 10 levels or so over the course of an hour. Also, apparently I suck at Mario games. I’ve been small Mario quite a bit, and only have 4 lives or something left. Regardless, I do plan to dive in more deeply later in the year. I think it’s almost Mario Galaxy time…

On PC, I’m still playing Dying Light. Gavin tipped me off to an April Fools day prank in the game that I checked out this morning before work. Take a peek at the video below – yes, it’s as awesome as it seems. Unfortunately, you need to find an “air drop” in order to take advantage of the exaggerated physics. In fairness, though, they have a prompt that explains this right when you boot up the game, and air drops are pretty easy to come by.

 

Tuesday, 5:59 pm – matt

A sad bit of news indeed. Apparently the Zelda franchise has been the victim of release delays before, so fans actually weren’t too shocked, disappointed for sure, but not shocked. I for one tend to turn a blind eye to news regarding games, trying to keep as much fresh as possible. One downside to this is it seems some developers know that people consume every preview, news tidbit and spoiler before a game and as a result limit the amount of backstory told for a particular game, I still think The Last Of Us is one the biggest game to be a victim of this.

Game delays seem more apparent nowadays – even with them it still seems like games are rushed to market with minimal testing and an abundance of bugs (cough, cough, Little Big Planet 3). “just release a patch or DLC later on after they have bought it” seems to be the working mantra for game studios, mainly because we as gamers haven’t stood up enough and voiced our collective anger.

As videogames become more cinematic there a lesson they could learn from movie studios – if the film ain’t finished it doesn’t get released and the studio goes bankrupt. Battlefield 4 and SimCity were released as online required games and their servers didn’t work preventing gamers from actually playing the game.

All they did was offer a free version of an old SimCity game (maybe because the new one still wasn’t working). There was no news from Maxxis leading up to the release that any potential issue existed, so when gamers saw a packaged box on the store shelves they figured they were buying a finished product. how are we supposed to know a game glitched or incomplete, its not like a book where we could skim tot he back and see the final three chapters weren’t written…

Tuesday, 2:29 pm – Ricky

Let’s not beat around the bush here. I was late putting this up. Sue me.

