I’ve seen the future, and it is glorious. 

It’s called the Star Wars: Battle Pod, and it’s available at the local Dave and Busters here in Toronto. It’s a new game (which is odd for D&B), and in more than just one sense of the word. It’s a newly released game, it’s a new Star Wars game and it’s a one of a handful of games showing off some new technology. And it’s at an arcade. AN ARCADE. When was the last time you were excited to go to an arcade for a new video game??

Basically, watch the video at the bottom of this post and then tell me you aren’t excited for the future.

Friday, 7:09 pm – Albert

Thanks for the suggestions!

I’m very surprised that Spec Ops: The Line is the #1 suggestion since it is an FPS and I don’t get the feeling a lot of us on Gamentary play FPS(s) all that much. I used to… but I guess there is Insurgency and we play that sometimes. I have tried to get into Metro 2033 and Wolfenstein: The New Order recently and I couldn’t really get into them more than 30 mins each.

As for the rest, i’ve played 10 minutes of Shovel Knight and can I say (with risk of angering everyone, especially Gavin), that the old school (what I consider Nintendo-type) games are so boring to me. I cannot get into them. I’m not sure what it is. Maybe because it is a platformer and that’s just not for me? Was it because I was a Sega kid because my sister hogged the Nintendo? I have no idea. Anyways, it’s extremely tough for me to like Shovel Knight. I’ll give it another 20 mins.

The Walking Dead is definitely on my list. I started playing The Wolf Among Us on my Android and I really like it. It’s engaging and brings me back to the fun times of Sam and Max: Hit the Road (well, not exactly but in the mood for adventure!).

I need Mount Your Friends … friends. Any takers?

I’ve been playing Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale. It is a cutie pie Anime shop simulator… I’ve never been one to really get into this genre (Anime/Japanese) gaming… maybe Final Fantasy but it has grown on me. There is definitely something so humorous about the dialogue. It’s like dating again, because I have no idea how to process this game. Do I like it? Why is it so interesting? All I know is: Capitalism, ho!

Ho, indeed!

I mean Offworld Trading Company and Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale is probably the same thing. Maybe i’ll look into Offworld next.

Thursday, 1:54 pm – matt

Well well well, here we are. After recouping from a final trip to Toronto before my life completely gets turned upside down I too am getting back into the swing of things. I have a little backlog of games forming on the PS4 now, with FIFA 15, Resident Evil, Costume Quest 2 and GTA 5 all unfinished. Ill get to it.

Despite not playing it myself, I can vouch that Ricky really, really, really, liked the Star Wars game.

I for one enjoyed a good 4 player Mario Kart battle following an epic 4 player Air Hickey Battle.

and yes,  4 player air hockey does exist.

Thursday, 12:17 pm – Ricky

My name is Ricky, and I approve Gavin’s list.

Also, I’m extremely jealous of Albert’s time spent in games since the holiday sale. I… suck at playing games these days. That said, I’m staring down the barrel of some gaming nights this weekend! Friday and Sunday are “bachelor days”, as my wife will be out and about with friends. Dying light and FIFA 15 are both at the top of the pecking order, along with more Far Cry 4 whenever I’m without people to play with. Of course, Insurgency could easily creep in there, too.

I’ve been really intrigued by Offworld Trading Company, a new game from Soren Johnson (of Civ 3 and Civ 4 fame) and his new studio, Mohawk Games. Check out the video below – there’s no fighting/violent conflict. It’s actually an economic simulator. Make money on Mars, use the money to buy-out your competitors. Win by owning all of Mars.

Wednesday, 1:27 pm – Gavin

Well, I may be biased, but PLAY SPEC OPS: THE LINE IMMEDIATELY RIGHT NOW.

You’ve got one hell of a list to get through, but my top five would be:

  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • The Walking Dead, season 1
  • The Walking Dead, season 2
  • Shovel Knight
  • Mount Your Friends

I say again, thank goodness for the elimination of my backlog.  I’m playing the original Deus Ex right now, just having a blast with it, and it’s wonderful.  No guilt!  No stress!  Just pure nonlethal violence.  I love it.  I’m also going through Link’s Awakening again, just to ease myself back into the Zelda life for the inevitable purchase of Majora’s Mask 3D.  It’s had collectively good reviews, fixed a few control/camera issues and the 3D is well-handled.

I finished up Episode 3, the final “regular” episode of Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker over the weekend.  It had a sharp difficulty increase near the end, but it was good to end it when it did.  Now I’m into the bonus levels, which employ a few more gimmicks such as commanding a team of Toads, rather than just one.  I don’t know how much more I have to go, but for a $40 title, I have to say I am impressed with how much I’m getting out of this!

Tuesday, 8:26 pm – Albert

That’s awesome about the new arcade game — next we need Tie Fighter + Oculus combo and we’ll be all set.

I’m trying this year to play a majority of the games I bought during the Steam Xmas sale. And when I say try, I mean, at least play 30 minutes of each game. If the game hooks me longer, awesome. If not… then i’m just not going to worry about it. (I’ve already been straying from it since Ricky and I have been playing Dying Light — more to come on that front in the next couple of days)

Here is the list i’m working from (Feel free to suggest which games to play first):

Agricultural Simulator 2013 Steam Edition

The Banner Saga

Blackguards

Blade Symphony

Blood Bowl: Chaos Edition

Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box

Castle Crashers (1 hour – this is a multiplayer only game for me with Ricky)

Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3

Contagion

Craft the World (53 hours)

Dead State (32 hours)

DiRT 3

Divinity: Original Sin

Door Kickers

The Forest

Gauntlet (1.2 hours – this is also a multiplayer only game for me with Ricky + Preezie)

Ghostbusters: The Video Game

Gods Will Be Watching

Halo: Spartan Assault

Lords of Xulima

Mafia II

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition

Mount Your Friends

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (0.5 hours)

Postal 2

Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale (0.1 hours)

Resident Evil 6 / Biohazard 6 (1.5 hours – this is a multiplayer game only for me with a buddy)

Shadownrun: Dragonfall – Director’s Cut

Shovel Knight (0.1 hours)

Sid Meier’s Civilization: Beyond Earth

Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion

Slender: The Arrival

Spec Ops: The Line

Super Time Force Ultra

This War of Mine (25 hours)

Total War: ROME II – Emperor Edition

Valiant Heats: The Great War

Viscera Cleanup Detail

The Walking Dead: Season Two (I have Season One I have to get through first)

The Wolf Among Us

Wolfenstein: The New Order (1.2 hours)

Xenonauts

Ziggurat

 

So this is my list of games that I want to make a dent in. They have their own category on my steam game list and I won’t be removing them until I’ve given them a fair shot. As you can tell I’ve clearly had favorites. Anybody else doing anything to guide their gaming this year?

Monday, 7:56 am – Ricky

I cannot wait to go back to D&B. It’s going to be Star Wars: Battle Pod day. Check out this release trailer (a release trailer! for an arcade game!):

