Best indie game (smaller priced games that we loved (i.e. no more than $20) – Broken Age – I don’t play many iOS games, but this titles from Tim Schafer was pretty cool. I haven’t finished it but enjoying playing it with my girlfriend.

Most Interesting Gaming Moment – When Oculus Rift was bought by Facebook. What happens to the project? Will is still be primarily used for games? What about the backers on Kickstarter? Verrrrrry interesting.

Best Character – The Traveler – Destiny – easily the most complex, dynamic, interesting floating balls ever witnessed in video games. Such wisdom…

Best Art Style/Graphics/Prettiest/Nicest Looking – Need For Speed Rivals – Holy crap I couldn’t believe how amazing the details on the cars looked in the game, if only they put as much
effort in producing a fun game to go along with it they could have had a big hit on their hands.

Funniest Gaming Moment – While I can’t pinpoint the exact moment, setting, or joke, there were a good dozen or so times I couldn’t catch my breath from laughing so hard while playing Destiny with Ricky. Not necessarily from jokes in the game – more jokes about the game and how we interpreted them – like the Gatelord.., in all his Gatelord glory…

Game I want to see a sequel to – in 2015 there can be only game I want to see a sequel announcement for: Shenmue

Game I never want to see again – inFamous Second son. I’m pretty sure I’ve ripped this game to shreds before, so I’ll try not to go into too much detail; this game sucks. Ok moving on…

Best Audio – we’re going back to Grand a Theft Auto 5 for the PS4. I could give it to this game alone for adding in 150 new songs to the already extensive soundtrack, but there’s so much more. The conversation that fill the world, the amazing commentary and gags on American culture through the radio commercials, and of course, glorious explosions and car sounds. Love it!

Biggest disappointment – Watch_Dogs – This convoluted pile of trash brought to you by UbiSoft was the most over hyped game of 2012/13 and finally 2014 when it actually released – and the extra time in development still resulted in a poorly executed game (imagine if it released on time?). Without going into too much of a long winded rant – Watch_Dogs (emphasis on the underscore) was a cliché ridden open world game with plot twists so obvious you almost expected the final sequence would have the player wake up “and it was all a dream…”.

Biggest surprise (in games in general or a specific game) – the overall lack of games I played this year. While searching for relevant tiles to fill out this list I realized I don’t think I have ever played so few games (I still play a ton of videogames, but it seems on a smaller number of games – most likely attributed to only playing games on the PS4 where new releases are fewer in between, or maybe it’s the fact I have a baby coming into the world (SURPRISE!).

Game I’m most looking forward to in 2015 – METAL… GEAR… SOLID – funny it was on my list last year too, guess that’s the way it goes with delays…

Best co-op game – Destiny – I am very fond of multiplayer co-op games, they bring me back to the time of the time when people played video games together in the same room. Destiny was an awesome experience to play with Ricky, I rarely played that game solo so it truly felt like we journeyed through the game together. Loved it!

Best multi-player game – Cards against Humanity – I’m mixing it up here and throwing out this oddball card game. A “fill in the blank” card game that has players filling sentences or answering questions using their hand of cards containing crude words. Don’t like my choice blame the hackers…

Most addictive game – FIFA 14 – while I don’t feel like sharing my record for online co-op seasons, nothing drove me harder to win than getting my ass handed to me in a game of soccer over the internet. And I got my as handed to me a lot.

My dirty little secret game (which game were you most ashamed of liking?) – P.T. – was this even a video game? Am I seriously yelling Lisa into a microphone and walking 10 paces just to be lead to a video? Yes. And it was awesome…

Best handheld / mobile game – Tearway – The folks behind LBP have left that series in the hands of others as they focus on new adventures and this one is simply amazing. Media molecule did a great job in seeing their vision of their neat origami paper world and they pulled it off without a hitch. The VITA was used to perfection. I know it’s not a system seller but man it’s terrific, and any fan of the Zelda series I feel would really appreciate what they’ve done.

The 2nd Annual Wall Punch Award (which game made you so frustrated that you wanted to throw a controller or punch a hole in a wall?) – FIFA 14 – as mentioned above, my online running mate in this game lost… a lot…

Best Game I played this year (can be a game released from any year, but that you played this year) – Can we make it two years running? Why not grand theft auto 5 PS4.

Best 2014 Game – the fifth installment of car thieving.

