Well, it’s that time of year again: The end. When we get to reflect on twelve months of awesome games, entertaining events, and incredible stories from the world of video games. 

The Game Awards were held last week – formally the Spike Video Game Awards and the VGX. Check out the list of winners. We don’t do anything “normal” here, so don’t expect a site-wide top-ten list, or even traditional categories. I’ll have to dig back into earlier this year to see what we did for categories in 2013, but even then, don’t expect the same ‘ol same ‘ol. In the meantime…

What’s your favourite gaming moment from 2014?

Thursday, 11:45 am – matt

my hibernation is over, just in time to wrap up the year in style! Thanks to my late birthday and generous friends, my game collection exploded this month with the PS4 version of Grand Theft Auto, Little Big Planet, and The Crew (which I purchased myself). As expected the GTA remake is a glorified version of the biggest game from last year – there isn’t a particular improvement that I can think of, but the entire experience just feels incredible.

The Little Big Planet franchise has been a tremebndous source of fun for me, having played every entry of the series across the playstation platforms. This time the game has a more “adventure” feel to the game, it no longer feels like a string of random levels thrown together but rather a collection of levels coming together (riiiiight now, over me).

The Crew is a open world, MMO stylem racing game that takes the meat and potatoes of my 2010 game of the year, Forza Horizon, and straps nitro rocket boosters propelling you across the entire U.S of A rather than just Colorado. Initial impressions: WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Monday, 2:25pm – Gavin

Favourite moment from 2014?  Well, it’s a tough one for sure, because I played some wonderful titles in 2014.  However, many of them were 2013-or-earlier titles, so I’m not certain that counts.  In the interest of fairness, I’ll say that it doesn’t count, because otherwise I’d just play Super Metroid once each year and my answer to this question would be “that”.

In terms of 2014 titles played, my list is fairly short.

  • Nidhogg
  • Mario Kart 8
  • The Walking Dead, Season 2
  • Goat Simulator

My list of 2013-or-earlier titles played in 2014 absolutely dwarfs this list.  Perhaps it’s not a fair comparison, especially not with such titles as Super Mario 3D World, Mass Effect trilogy, Bioshock Infinite, Zelda: A Link Between Worlds/Ocarina of Time/Link’s Awakening/Wind Waker, Splinter Cell: Blacklist, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons, Mirror’s Edge, VVVVVV, Donkey Kong Country Returns, and Mark of the Ninja firmly checked off this year.

As I write this, Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker is sitting in my mailbox waiting for me to enjoy it.  It’s a Christmas present to myself.

It’s hard to say what my favourite gaming moment was from 2014.  I was fairly critical of The Walking Dead season 2, even if it was a good title.  It definitely missed out on the amazing character attachment I felt in Season 1.  But then, the final decision in that game was one of the hardest I’ve ever made in my gaming life.  I can usually justify any decision I make (where I need to), but this was the most morally grey decision I’ve seen in gaming, and it was fabulous.  To top it off, there’s a timer rapidly counting down, so you have to make the decision quickly.  I eventually made my tough decision and let out an audible “ARGH!” as I clicked that mouse button.  It was painful and emotionally draining in the best way, so I suppose I’d have to pick that.

Mario Kart 8 is a more fun game.  I’ll pick that up for years to come and I’ll smile and laugh as I do it, but there’s no one standout moment for me.  I definitely greatly appreciated the designs of the levels, especially Cloudtop Cruise.  Maybe I liked it so much that I just liked everything.

Goat Simulator is Goat Simulator.  It’s stupid and fun but as soon as I uninstall it, I’ll probably forget all about it.  That’s not a positive statement.

Monday, 2:05 pm – Ricky

I’m late, but that’s OK, because I make the rules.

