Gobble gobble. Good gobble goody good gobble. Amen.

With that out of the way, what’d you play this long weekend, Canadians? Americans, what did you play this short, normal, insignificant weekend? Hopefully “video games” is the answer to the question regardless of your current geographic location.

Wednesday, 9:04 am – Gavin

I’m on vacation this week, though in the office today, so I’ve had a lot of opportunities to play.  I’m still going through Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D, and I’m seeing exactly what people are talking about when they say that it’s a hard game.  Actually going through the levels is pretty straightforward, maybe a couple of quirks but nothing out of sorts.  However, there’s a bonus level in each world, and to open up the bonus level, you need to collect four letters in each level.  There’s a real challenge to that in some cases, as it requires significant competence in movement.  Timing can be very key in this game, so to bounce from one enemy’s head to reach something higher up can be tough – make a mistake when pressing the secondary jump button, and you’ve killed the enemy, can’t bounce higher, and ruined your chance.

I spent most of yesterday firing through the Citadel DLC for Mass Effect 3, and the second-last mission for ME3.  I’m well-aware that the ending to ME3 is supposedly pretty disappointing, and that the Citadel DLC is the “real” ending.  I’ve never much been one for DLC, but Mass Effect really speaks to me with it.  For lack of a better word, Citadel is DLC simply done right.  It’s a big, ridiculous, irreverent sendoff to the series with touching emotional moments, an outlandish mission, and hilarious writing.  It’s also HUGE.  It opens up a new hub area, allows for many social interactions with your allies, and generally gives good attention to everyone.  The characters reminisce about their missions, you get one final interaction with everyone, and basically you get a chance to say goodbye.  I’d be lying if I said that it didn’t make me just a little bit emotional, knowing that this enormous, 125 hour journey is coming to an end soon.  I also felt a bit guilty about not exploring some of the in-action dialogue with some characters, as I never selected them for missions.

It’s a cathartic experience, but it’s time to end it and move on.  On the plus side, I did get Dragon Age: Origins for free from Origin the other day, so if I decide that I need more Bioware in my life, I’ve got that to look forward to!

Tuesday, 6:19 pm – Albert

I played a good chunk of Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor and I am very pleased. The combat is familiar as it is the Batman fighting style which has been finely tuned. The story is engaging, although it could be EVEN more fleshed out if it decided to be, but as you’ve probably heard the “Nemesis System” is probably the best part of it. In a nut shell it is a ranking simulator of captains who when they kill you, or each other (or some other type of power play) get promoted and take of the position of their target. This leads to all sorts of awesome scenarios where you are “Branding” (basically possessing them) to do your bidding. Once they follow your commands you can get them to take out other captains to position themselves as the bodyguards of the Warchief or the next in line. It’s really fun to target an Uruk, brand them then have them help you take down Warchiefs. I’m almost done with the game I believe but there are so many side quests and collectibles that it could take a long time if I want to extend my play.

If you’re on the fence about it go to http://www.greenmangaming.com and use the code: P65PW6-F9B91D-TW2AG2 to get 25% off your next purchase (this works with Shadow of Mordor).

Also, i’m not a shill. I swear. (ps. please send check to…)

Tuesday, 11:38 am – Ricky

Yep, definitely didn’t do this yesterday. I did play a bunch more Destiny with matt, which I’ve really been digging. It’s a great pick-up-and-play-any-time game, something that I’d been missing with all the deep story-based games I’ve been playing lately. I’ve also been digging more into Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor. I’m loving this game, and again, it’s perfect for just picking up for a quick 30 minute play session before heading to work, or diving into a 3 hour play session late at night, neglecting sleep and other household duties.

Try one or both today! Available at your local retailers.

