It’s that time again: Another E3 out in L.A. Our west coast correspondents won’t be in attendance, so we’ll have to make do with the live coverage through real game media outlets instead.

I’m fine with that. If truth be told, I’m kind of over E3. A couple of years ago, I was locked on to my computer screen, consuming each and ever press conference, and even rewatching them when there was some “down time”. Last year, I watched only the Microsoft and Sony conferences, mostly because I knew there’d be new hardware. This year? I have no plans to watch any conferences live, and I’ll be surprised if I have the time and inclination to watch them after the fact. 

Still, E3 is a major source of game news and information, so I’ll be checking in on my news feeds more often than usual. Are you excited about E3? What are you hoping to see?

Thursday, 9:30 am – Gavin

I’m not going to run down through my E3 checklist simply because you can find that anywhere.  I did watch the Microsoft and EA conferences, and both were horribly awkward with journalists awkwardly applauding every little announcement, even when it was completely inappropriate.  The Nintendo conference was a breath of fresh air.

It’s hard to say who “won” this year.  Nobody had any gigantic major announcements re hardware, and there weren’t many surprises for software.  We all knew that a new Zelda game was going to be announced, and there were no other giant bombs (SWIDT?) dropped.  So, time to stick to what I know – Nintendo.

The rest of 2014 looks to be fairly pale, but we knew that coming into the year:

  • Hyrule Warriors
  • Super Smash Brothers U
  • Bayonetta 2 (with 1 included for free!)
  • Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker (awww yisssss, Toad gets his own game)
  • Just Dance 2015 (not my type, but they’re money factories for Ubisoft)
  • Project CARS
  • Watch Dogs

That’s not to say that 2014 wasn’t big – we did also get Wii Fit U, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze and Mario Kart 8, all of which got decent-to-great reviews.  That said, 2015 has some heft to it:

  • The Legend of Zelda U
  • Yoshi’s Woolly World (the new title for Yarn Yoshi, and DAMN DOES IT EVER LOOK GOOD)
  • Mario Maker (the make-your-own-Mario game)
  • Mario Party 10
  • Star Fox
  • X
  • Splatoon (which looked to be one of the more interesting titles out there)
  • Shin Megami Tensei X Fire Emblem (stupid title, but people love these series)

Actually, on Splatoon, it was interesting for several reasons. It has an art style that you don’t see in many shooters, it has an interesting mechanic (move slowly over enemy ink, move quickly over your own ink), and it fundamentally skews one of the shooter paradigms – shooting the enemy. How many shooter games are explicitly not about shooting your opponents? It’s a game that is taking a clear risk and I think it looks very fun.

Between that, Project Steam, Project Guard, and Project Giant Robot, maybe people will finally shut the hell up about Nintendo not generating new IP.

Tuesday, 8:12 am – Ricky

Well, that was an interesting day.

Where to begin… Here are my quick hits:

  • Ubisoft has me pretty excited, as usual. Gameplay of the new 4-player co-op Assassin’s Creed: Unity looks incredible; Far Cry 4 looks like more Far Cry, which is a good thing; The Crew is still my most anticipated title for this holiday season; a new Rainbow Six was announced, which is always good. I could go on, but I suggest you just watch the Ubisoft presser for yourself.
  • Lots of great exclusives coming to PS4, including a new LittleBigPlanet this holiday season. Grim Fandango will be remastered and rereleased on PS4, and procedurally-generated flying sim No Man’s Sky will be console-exclusive to PS4 (with a PC release as well).
  • Grand Theft Auto 5 will be coming to the new consoles and PC this Fall. No surprise there, I guess. Rockstar doesn’t have a great history of stable PC releases, but I’m sure matt and our gaming buddy will both be getting it on PS4, so that shouldn’t be an issue for me.
  • Other games that excite me but that I don’t have time to chat about right now: Evolve (PC?? PS4?? We need need to organize!), Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor, The Order: 1886
  • Oh, and they’re making a new Homefront game. It can’t be any worse than the first one, right? RIGHT??

Monday, 7:36 am – Ricky

Basically, if Rockstar announces GTA V for PS4 and Xbox One at E3, but NOT for PC, I’m going to be pretty pissed off. I’ve been holding off on another Red Dead Redemption playthrough partially because I’ve been hoping for a PC release (but mostly due to time constraints). We’ll see what Rockstar has in the hopper – they’re due for a 2014 title, so perhaps we’ll see a “coming this holiday season”-type announcement.

Otherwise, I’m looking forward to hearing more about Project Morpheus, which is Sony’s virtual reality headset (similar to the Occulus Rift). I’m not sure whether or not I’ll be into VR by the time it becomes a full-fledged consumer product, but the possible applications for this kind of tech puts me right into my bleeding-edge happy place.

