I was browsing Shacknews, my online site of choice after Gamentary, and took a look at their release list for May 12th-18th. One of the comments caught my attention: PS4 has “None” listed for this week. So, there are no games coming for Sony’s next-gen console this week.

How big of a deal is this? In this day and age, there seems to be something for everyone to play at any point in time in the year, so going a week without a release doesn’t sound like a big deal. It wasn’t that long ago that this was the norm. Still, self-publishing on consoles has changed the way the industry operates, taking some of the power away from the console makers and putting it into the hands of the content creators, and that means there will be times where no one releases any content.

Thursday, 3:16 pm – Ricky

Well, I’m still not getting an Xbox One, no matter how inexpensive it gets. At this point, there’s near-feature and price parity between the two big consoles, and I already have one of them. Actually, with all of the amazing Mario Kart 8 reviews coming out today, I’d sooner spring for Nintendo’s console. They’re really getting a killer catalog going – still, I barely play the games I own, so I’ll continue to resist… for now.

Unfortunately, none of us will get to play The Division this year – it’s been delayed to 2015. It makes sense: Ubisoft already has a new franchise launching this fall (The Crew, which I’m anticipating the most out of all known titles this year) and of course, they’ll have their usual Assassin’s Creed title. No need to cram in another blockbuster in there. I’m happy to hear they’ll take their time to tune it.

I haven’t played much this week, but I did finish The Walking Dead: Season 2 – Episode 3. I know not everyone on the site is playing this game, but man, Telltale are masterful storytellers. Folks that are at all interested in a good story with interesting characters should play these games – go out and nab it when it’s on the cheap, or right now at full price. It’s worth it either way.

I have been watching a lot of folks play video games. Specifically, it’s the North American qualifiers for Dota2’s The Internation this week. I’ve been watching the streams during the day in the background, or watching them in the Dota2 client in the evening. It’s no wonder this game is so popular: Valve makes it easy to watch and follow high-profile games, which in turn entices folks to try it out. Granted, I’ve played no more than 4 games (against real people) in my whole life, but I still have a fascination and appreciation of the game. More qualifiers will be running across the globe for the rest of the month, all leading to July 18-22, where Seattle will host the Dota2 tournament with the largest prizepool ever seen. It just hit $5 million today, and as more people purchase The Compendium (a digital item granting access to streaming feeds and a bunch of other neat stuff), the purse will continue to rise.

Tuesday, 11:29 am – matt

not too many releases this week but doesn’t mean all is quiet on the gaming front, Microsoft shook things up a bit with the surprising announcement of a $399 Kinect-less Xbox One will soon be available for purchase. With console sales lagging behind the (then) less expensive PS4 this looks like Microsoft’s abandonment of the motion and voice sensing peripheral, especially after claiming it to be so integral with the future of the consoles. Does this change anything for me? Not really, I wasn’t planning on purchasing one and this does little to change my mind.

Its humorous to see though that for the first time early adopters for PS4 got a pretty big break while XBONE’s kinda got screwed. The PS4 has since raised in price by $50 (*in Canada, where we are, well except for Albert, who we envy and love out in sunny California), while Microsoft early adopter paid more and are stuck with basically an already obsolete piece of crap.

Monday, 5:09 pm – Gavin

No releases for a week?  Pardon me while my Wii U cries tears of pity for you.  What’s that?  There’s only one Wii U title releasing for THE ENTIRE MONTH OF MAY?  I mean sure, it’s Mario Kart 8, but still, “None” is not solely attributed to Sony.  May is generally a dead zone and the Xbox One isn’t exactly brimming with titles this month either – they’ve got Super Time Force, Wolfenstein: The New Order, and Watch Dogs, and that’s it for that system as well.  May 2013 was sort of useless as well, with the only major titles being Metro: Last Light, Resident Evil: Revelations, Call of Juarez: Gunslinger (well, sort of major), and that’s basically it.  May 2012 was better, with Sniper Elite v2, Diablo 3, Max Payne 3, but typically, May doesn’t give you many titles.

As I continue to blast through Mass Effect, this week I’m all about The Walking Dead: Season Two: Episode 3: Colon.  I’m also going through The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening on the 3DS virtual console, and I’m having a great time with it.  It’s small, limited, and muted in colour, but it’s giving me my fix, as I was completely done with Mario Kart 7 and VVVVVV.

Monday, 9:52 am – Ricky

Is this really a topic? I guess so… The Walking Dead: Season Two – Episode 3 releases this week, so I could have talked about that instead.

I dunno, tell me what you’re up to this week instead.

 

 

