Well, this will be a week that separates the men from … well, the men who like different things. 

I’m speaking of course about the 2 major releases for this week: Walking Dead – Season 2: Episode 2 and South Park: The Stick of Truth. Two games that are polar opposites of each other. One, a point-and-click adventure game with a mature theme, and the other, a cartoon RPG with mature language.

My heart will be divided when I eventually get my PC set-up in my new place next week. Walking Dead or South Park? It’s like Sophie’s choice, except I need to choose between zombies and cartoon violence.

Thursday, 1:42 pm – Albert

I have heard about Diablo 3 and it’s so called “OMG GUYS THIS IS HOW DIABLO SHOULD BE”. Part of me is excited but part of me is very much done with that game. It’s like Simcity 3… sure they got the traffic correct now… and some things have changed. But i’ve already had my fill (i.e. got my heart broken). It’s the same feeling I get with early released games. Even though they are getting better I just can’t come back. Boo Diablo! Yay Southpark!

Thursday, 9:29 am – Ricky

Oh hi der: Volume 2

Look what just got announced for May 27th. I AM READY TO HACK!

I’ll be getting Watch Dogs on PC with my Ubisoft Pass, and I can’t wait to see what it looks like with all the bells and whistles of my new system.

Thursday, 9:05 am – Ricky

Oh hi der.

So, I haven’t played The Walking Dead: Season 2 – Episode 2 (which, from what I’ve heard from Gavin, is excellent) and South Park: The Stick of Truth (which, from what I’ve heard from the Internet, is excellent).

However, I have played the classic 2012 title Diablo 3 on my MacBook Air.

Yup, I saw the icon on my dock, loaded it up, installed 12 GB worth of patches (!) and messed around for an hour with one of my low-level characters. This game has completely changed. They’ve changed how you’re rewarded experience, how you get additional loot-luck, the kinds and type of loot, the stats a character can have, abilities, skills: You name, they’ve changed it.

Granted, I haven’t played in well over a year. But as Blizzard is building up towards the release of the first expansion – Reaper of Souls, on March 25th – they’ve been changing their game to make it easier to play, easier to understand, and frankly, more fun. I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface of this new Diablo 3, and I can’t wait to reinstall it on my big rig when I get set-up. I just hope it entices more folks to come back to the game… Albert? Preezie? Please come back!

Tuesday, 2:47 pm – matt

GAVIN?!?!?!

Man Stabbed with ‘Master Sword’ in Domestic Dispute

Monday, 5:47 pm – Albert

Since my gaming time (and thus my appearance) on this site has been dwindling, I made an attempt to play games this weekend. I bought Thief, Banished, South Park: The Stick of Truth and I also played some Game Dev Tycoon. On the Android side I’ve been playing A Story of a Band.

Honestly, if you have an Android, play A Story of a Band. It’s pretty fun and has all the number counting maximization that Game Dev Story had. I played it for 7 hours straight on my recent flight.

I played a bit of Thief this weekend. I have to say that my initial impression isn’t anything crazy. I want to chalk it up to my mood but I couldn’t even get through the tutorial. I’ll try again soon! I must blackjack someone…

Banished was an interesting game as well but again, I just didn’t have the patience to learn a game from the ground up. So although I have to put way more time into Thief and Banished — I went ahead and bought South Park: The Stick of Truth based on the following video which I posted… but i’m going to post it again.

I’m really looking forward to getting into more games now that i’m home for a bit! Three very different games I can sink my time into but I have a feeling i’ll be playing mostly on my Android until the weekend.

Monday, 9:59 am – Gavin

This is really a no-brainer for me, as I’m not picking up South Park and I already have The Walking Dead.  I’ve reserved use of the computer for a few hours tomorrow night as I refuse to be a victim of spoilers.  It effectively only took me about a week to get over the lack of more Walking Dead to play after I finished the first episode.  It was out of my mind, so the announcement of the new episode took me a little by surprise.  A week later, here I am.

I’m still chugging along through Splinter Cell: Blacklist.  I’m about 2/3 of the way through it now (the game gives you a progress bar option).  Still enjoying it, still taking my sweet time with it, but noticing a few chinks in the armour.  I just finished a mission where I had to break out of a prison, and it was so linear it might as well have been in Gears of War.  It did not encourage much in the way of exploration at all.  It was a challenging level because of that (hard to navigate around enemies), but I’m also stuck on whether that’s a bad design or not.  I’ve never been to a prison so I don’t know if prisons are generally linear structures or not.  It might have been a perfect design, but what I can tell you is that it wasn’t desperately fun.

Also, I have had to turn my brain off regarding the dichotomy of Sam Fisher from Blacklist and Sam Fisher from Conviction.  They’re meant to be the same person, and the Sam Fisher from Conviction is the same Sam Fisher from Double Agent – they are all canon.  The recasting is strange, because if you’re following that, and the idea that “events happened in the past”, then naturally you must also accept aging, or at least some form of physiological consistency.  Double Agent and Conviction’s Fisher was grizzled and old, with the perfect grizzled old Michael Ironside to voice him.  Blacklist’s Fisher is voiced and acted by Eric Johnson, who is 34 and looks 25.  I can’t reconcile that with the fact that Blacklist Fisher is supposed to be in his 50s and has a mid-20s daughter (26 in Conviction).  So, I’ve had to ignore that part of the canon.  Think about it too much and it ruins the game for you, that sort of thing.

The main antagonist is played by Carlo Rota, better known as Yasir Hamoudi from Little Mosque on the Prairie, and Morris O’Brien from 24.  He plays his role perfectly, and is mo-capped pretty much perfectly.  He’s absolutely tearing it up on screen and the biggest problem with him is that he doesn’t get as much screen time as he deserves.  He evokes a sort of Hans Gruber – very charming, self-serving, and capable of evil.

Which one is which?

Take note, developers: when you hire professional screen actors, try to put them in as much as possible.  There aren’t that many animators who can capture emotion and nuance better than a fully mo-capped professional actor.

Wrapping it up here: finished almost all of the player-created levels in VVVVVV, left two of them that just weren’t fun or had jumps that I couldn’t make.  I hate the idea of needing to be perfect in a game like that.  If there’s no margin of error, you risk alienating people like me, who adored the core game.  I also downloaded Steel Diver: Sub Wars, an original title from Nintendo for the 3DS.  It’s free (the trial version, anyway) and is exactly the type of game you think it is.  It’s meant to be multiplayer, but I’ll just exhaust the single-player mode until I’m bored with it.  Needed a change from VVVVVV, and I can’t have two Splinter Cell games on the go at the same time (Blacklist and 3DS).

Monday, 12:01 am – Ricky

Gonna be a very silent week from me as I prepare for my move. All my systems are packed! I’m sure Albert, Gavin and matt will keep you company. Enjoy the games folks and I’ll see you on the other side!

