Best indie game (smaller priced games that we loved (i.e. no more than $20)

Winner: Journey – PS3

Released quite a while ago, this was on sale and I quickly downloaded it based on Ricky’s recommendation. It was an awesome experience and joy to play with very fluid controls and (although incredibly linear) an quick moving game that flowed from one area to the next. Really, really enjoyed playing this game.

Best game that’s available through early access (games that are not quite finished but are fun so far)

Winner: EVERY GAME IN THE INTERNET GENERATION – just wait for a patch, it will fix everything…

Most Interesting Gaming Moment

Winner: Last of Us Intro – PS3

One of the best games this year featured one of the best opening sequences in a game (save Fallout 3) I can remember, and did an excellent job creating a sense of panic, urgency, and total despair all at once.

Best Character

Winner: Lara Croft – Tomb Raider

I have been a huge fan of this series since it launched in 1996, and those early games , while tremendously fun, offered no insight into the woman you were controlling. I felt they did a great job of introducing Lara to a new reality where she must fight and learn to survive or be killed, as well as the emotional toll such a transformation had on her throughout the game going from green adventurer to hunter and killer. I felt an emotional attachment to the young Lara, and despite (obviously) knowing she would survive this game, they certainly put the girl through quite the ordeal!

Best Art Style/Graphics/Prettiest/Nicest Looking

Winner: The Last Of Us – PS3

Albert, take it away…

Funniest Gaming Moment

Winner: GTA 5 – XBOX 360

Two friends were standing atop the tallest sky scraper in San Andreas, when we decided to have one attempt to fly a helicopter and the other was going to leap off the building and gracefully land in the open helicopter door. When that obviously did not work, and the leaper was forced to open a parachute when they then thought (a much worse idea) that it would be possible to then parachute into the helicopter door… Which lead to the unfortunate chopping up of Ricky’s body in the helicopter blades. Fuck i laughed.

Game I want to see a sequel to

Winner: Skate

There has not been a skate game in a quite a while, so I took this category as a “what game would i like to see a sequel to in 2014” and nothing would make me happier than to see a new release in this franchise, because it would mean it would most likely be released on a next gen system aswell.

Game I never want to see again

Winner: Super Hexagon – BlackBerry

For people who don’t know anything about this game don’t even bother. This game can be best described a mobile seizure enducing application for people who need time off work.

Best Audio

Winner: GTA 5 – XBOX 360

Despite tremendous sound effects in Tomb Raider and Last of Us, this is sort of the winner by default for me considering the absolute amazing soundtrack produced once again by Rockstar. But it is more than the music, from the different sounds of each car engine, the sound of a perfect drive of a tee, or listening to the banter of the npc population, it simply is amazing.

Biggest disappointment

Winner: Resident Evil 6 – XBOX 360

This was simply a colossal failure in my books, and feel completely shamed I convinced two friends this game would be an awesome game to play together, only to end up finishing it for the sake of saying, “I beat it”… What was once possibly my favourite video game series has taken a severe fall from grace, and not sure if it will ever recapture that gold found in Racoon City so long ago. I would love to write up all the things that went wrong with this game but I don’t have the time or energy, needless to say this game a giant mess of a failure, and despite looking awesome had nothing else going for it. except the green herbs, gotta love those!

Biggest surprise (in games in general or a specific game)

Winner: The complete reversal from Xbox concerning the restrictive policies they had in place, and then the unbelievable back tracking that occurred after SONY publicly embarrassed them at the PS4 unveil. 

Guess it goes to show the squeaky wheel gets the grease, but I fear for future generations that will simply kick up enough of a fuss to get their way. like protestors do here in Montreal…

Game I’m most looking forward to in 2014

Winner: Metal Gear Solid 5 – PS4

This franchise has long been a personal favourite of mine, so I’m always going to to be excited for a new game. Do I have any idea what the hell is going on? No. Will it take me a few playthroughs to finally figure it all out? Definitely. Can I wait? Absolutely not.

Best co-op game

Winner: Marvel LEGO – PS4

I was very surprised by Marvel LEGO, boasting the largest (and in my opinion the greatest) franchise of characters in a LEGO branded game, its a perfect couch co-op game. Levels usually feature 4 or 5 different heroes to choose from, each with unique super powers required to navigate from point a to b, and there is an entire New Brick City to navigate, complete side quests, and generally run amuck with LEGO NPC’s.

Best multi-player game

Winner: Last of Us

I knew I would see this game again. The refreshing take on multiplayer found in the Last of Us was so good even I like it, and I hate shooters. This unique multiplayer modes has gamers choosing between two factions and compete against the other in gathering supplies and building their respective colonies, fending off attacks from your foes, and trying to survive. And I didn’t even play this with any friends!

Most addictive game

Winner: GTA 5

From wake and bake sessions to 3am “holy crap I have work in the morning”, once again Rockstar captivated my time more than any other game. The story, online, everything. I found myself waking up and cranking on the system to play even for a bit before heading to work just to listen to a few song on the radio.

My dirty little secret game (which game were you most ashamed of liking?)

Winner: FIFA ’14 – PS4

Whoa? what? you might be thinking “FIFA is a great game, how is matt ashamed of playing this?” I ashamed because it is a game based on the sport of soccer…

 … and I like it…
 …Please don’t let my dad know…

Best handheld / mobile game

Winner: Little Big Planet – Sony VITA

Why? they literally took everything from a console version of LBP, and MADE IT BIGGER (while smaller) and BETTER! I really cant say much more than that. All LBP universe content available, download community levels for offline play, complete arcade and mini games that turned your VITA into a two player arcade cabinet, touch screen controls that actually made sense and a lengthy levels full of new power ups; this is the ULTIMATE Little Big Planet!

The Inaugural Wall Punch Award (which game made you so frustrated that you wanted to throw a controller or punch a hole in a wall?)

Winner: Alan Wake – XBOX 360

I had absolutely NO fun playing this game because its incredibly frustrating gameplay mechanics. I had been interested in this game for a while, but my Xbox broke before I could play it, after replacing that and seeing it on sale for $4.99 I decided to dive in. the trailers made this game seema  lot better/different than it turned out. did I mention the ridiculously limited ammo? having to weaken opponents with a flashlight before being able to kill them while all other enemies can gang rape you? how about the infinite projectile axes the enemies seem to carry, or the infinite respawn enemies? the ones that run faster than your character in every situation and still throw those infinite axes as you run for light. This is a game I played when I had little titles to choose from and I should have just stopped playing it several times but felt I had to finish what I started… fuck off alan wake.

Best Game I played this year (can be a game released from any year, but that you played this year)

Winner: See Below

Best 2013 Game

Winner: Grand Theft Auto 5 – XBOX 360

I really wanted to say Tomb Raider or the Last of Us, you know just to mix it up, but I couldn’t.

