Friday, 4:15 pm – matt

I am volunteering my services as judge in the case of Ricky vs Albert/Prezzie

Friday, 1:47 pm – Albert

Just got forwarded this Video of the Last of Us Official Fan Film. I haven’t gone through the whole thing yet, but needless to say SPOILER WARNING. There are some lines and scenes straight out of the game. Awesome.

Friday, 12:58 pm – Albert

Ricky’s latest upgrade has really started me thinking about what I want to do about new consoles coming out… I want to upgrade my computer too but nothing has really been pushing me to do so. Before, I felt like I would try to play Crisis or something that was heavy on PC and it would annoy me so much that I wanted to upgrade my computer as fast as possible. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a Wii-U and I’ve always known I would get a PS4 … but now i’m thinking: I MIND AS WELL GET ALL CONSOLES AND STILL BE MASTER RACE PC OWNER. But I’ve never really been a day one console guy. So there’s that.

By now you might realize that i’m rambling about something that everyone is thinking about to side step ANY talk about the “Backlog” Challenge. “Losing” the Challenge is really subjective. I’m sure during the end of the year talks we’ll talk about it and so begins the case of Ricky v. Albert & Preezie. All rise for the tribunal. I’m looking for some type of beneficial plea bargaining.

I really enjoy Dorkly.com’s comics so I thought I would share one of their latest in the spirit of a hopefully wonderful gaming weekend for all.

Video Games v. Real Life Part II

Friday, 8:07 am – Ricky

Oh hi der.

Awesome job by the crew this week keeping things going while I’ve been out and about. Wedding went well; nothing exploded and only one thing got moderately burnt. Unfortunately for this update, I haven’t touched a video game in about a week. Instead, I’ll share some photos of my recent PC build, courtesy of my sister’s fiancé. My CPU – the newest i7 4770K – is running on the hot side at about 35-40 Celsius when idle, and I still need to test it under load with some games. I picked up an extra case fan and can mount it facing the CPU if I need to, but if that doesn’t work… I may have some bigger cooling concerns on my hands.

Stripped and ready

Stripped and ready

HOW DID HE FIT THAT IN THERE!? .... That's what she said.

HOW DID HE FIT THAT IN THERE!? …. That’s what she said.

As well, as matt mentioned, he pre-ordered a PS4 for me together with his s/o and another gaming buddy of ours. I was absolutely floored when they gave me the card and gift – it’s beyond generous. I have fucking awesome friends. I’m now officially hyped up for the next generation of consoles, and I’ve been pouring through the launch line-up over the past few days. Of course, there’s a good chance that there won’t be enough supply to fulfill my order until later in the year/early next, so Albert and Preezie will be primed and ready to pick up a couple PS4 titles for me after losing the Challenge.

God I love video games.

Thursday, 4:09 pm – Gavin

I’ve still never played an X-COM game.  As I’ve said lots before, I’m inherently biased against turn-based games.  Very few have actually captured my attention; that list currently stands at five:

  1. Earthbound
  2. Chrono Trigger
  3. Final Fantasy VI
  4. Civilization II
  5. Lord of the Rings: The Third Age.

That said, I know that X-COM isn’t quite as board-gamey as those other ones, so I get the feeling it would be a welcome addition to the list.  But for obvious backlog-related reasons, I won’t be heading into down that road.

The only golfing game I’ve played with any fervour was this game that was my dad got for free from some conference, sponsored by Buick.  You got nine holes of golf and a Buick car customizer on a few floppy disks.  The golf was forgettable, but I did enjoy customizing the paint job of my 199X Buick whatever.  Though I did hear that Tiger Woods Golf 2009 was the best golf game of the previous generation, so perhaps I could give that one a go.

More Pikmin reviews coming in.  Destructoid gave it 9.5/10 today, so maybe I could have a new series to pick up on.  An RTS designed by Miyamoto?  How could I not love that?  Pikmin originally began life as Super Mario 128, but for various reasons, upper brass thought that a new series was valuable.  Pikmin gained a ton of love while on the GC.  I didn’t realize it had been so long since a previous Pikmin game had been released.  This is the otaku‘s Half-Life 3.

Thursday, 3:00 pm – matt

I tried so hard to like XCOM. thanks to the ps+ program the title was free to play, so I downloaded the lengthy title a couple of days ago and found it very difficult to get into. After hearing Albert rant about how great a game it is my interest was certainly peaked, but found it very disjointed to play. maybe I need more time with it, maybe I need to start Last Of Us online…

on a aside note I picked up a new game yesterday, continuing my recent craze of golfing games, I picked up the iconic, the classic, the indisputable king of all virtual links, Hot Shots for the VITA! nothing more can possibly be said about this franchise that hasn’t been said before, but getting the full experience in the palm of your hands is awesome. lots of collectibles, lots of characters, lots of customization. nothing to complain about at all!

Thursday, 1:40 pm – Albert

It’s weird, although Summer Steam Sales are over, i’m still finding that I constantly look for games to buy. I don’t have time to play games. But I still keep wanting to buy more. While I have a huge backlog, I find that games I paid more for are the priority. That being said: Tomb Raider and Bioshock Infinite are at the forefront. However, I’ve been following a little closer to The Bureau: X-COM Declassified which is being released on August 20th, 2013, just released a trailer not too long ago poking fun at the X-com series.

I think I might be the only person on this site to truly fall in love with X-COM: Enemy Unknown since it made me nostalgic for the first X-COM: UFO and X-COM: Terror from the Deep. I did get Ricky to play me 1 v. 1 in multiplayer which was amazing. Although the voice chat was awful and we couldn’t use steam. I laughed. Ricky cried. But he never asked for revenge. I’m still waiting on it.

Wednesday, 3:03 pm – Albert

I am actually starting to pay more attention to the Wii-U. After witnessing it in real life (against my normal prejudice) I really enjoyed the look and the capabilities of the device. I bought a Wii last gen and I really only used it for 2-3 months before never returning to it again. Would the Wii-U befall the same fate? I have a DS and that only last for a while as well. I will still be mulling over the question but my perception has changed. Maybe when the price drops I will get one, if only to play Mario Kart and Zombii-U.

In other news, Ricky, Preezie, and I went to play a lot of games as Gamercamp last year and we mentioned Guacamelee which comes to Steam on August 8, priced $15. When it’s released it’ll be at 10% discount and you can get Tales of Space: Mutant Blobs Attack for free. I just remember this game being hilarious and beautiful with colors. Also chickens.

Wednesday, 1:49 pm – Gavin

I can’t tell if Nintendo’s mishandling of the Wii-U in North America is a good thing or a bad thing.  And by good, I mean crappy, but with positive spin.  By having that first year of mistakes and screwarounds, they know what they need to do (ideally) when the PS4 and XBone actually hit the shelves.

But on the negative side, you’ve had a full year head start.  How can you be where you are after one year?  You should have done better.

Pikmin 3 hits on Friday, and then the exclusives start pouring in this fall/winter.  Is it enough?  By that point, surely the Wii-U will have a dramatically larger library than the PS4 and XBone combined.  But I guess we’ll wait and see.  All I know is that Super Mario 3D World is my first day-one purchase since Mortal Kombat II for the SNES.

Speaking of Nintendo, I’ve been reading this book:

It’s awesome

It’s obviously written by a Nintendo fan, so some of the bad decisions are downplayed and the good decisions are emphasized, but it’s really, REALLY well-researched and talks about how insanely influential and groundbreaking a lot of Nintendo titles have been.  I’m about 3/4 of the way through it, just hitting the advent of the DS now.  Seriously, if you have any interest about the games industry, this is a great read.  I nabbed it on my Kobo, which has some terrible grammar and spelling errors, but I suspect that was an error in translation to the format, because no editor could possibly have let it go to print with these errors.

Wednesday, 11:53 am – matt

Two big news features today, Nintendo released less than favorable console sales for the Wii U, and during the first quarter of 2013 they only sold 160,000 units. not overly surprising considering there no major releases to entice people who were on the fence to jump over, but with publishers basing their support on consoles sales in supporting the platform, things don’t looks all that great, Nintendo may never be out of the videogame race, but perhaps they are lining up in a comfortable third as BBM has to iPhone and Android.

second bit of news was completely unexpected, and might not mean anything entirely, but for Ricky this could be big, take two has trademarked a new Bully trademark. no other details really have been revealed but its a franchise Ricky and I though was perhaps dead in the water with recent situations involving schools and violence, but well have to wait and see what they are planning.

Tuesday, 3:17 pm – Albert

Agreed! It’s always nice to stay in touch through the magic of gaming. Now if only I could find time…

I do have time to play mobile games though! I think I might have talked about it before but Knights of Pen and Paper is a great mobile game. It is basically D&D and you have a wide variety of heroes and classes to choose from.

“Set out on a grand adventure in this turn-based, retro style, pixel-art RPG, inspired by the great titles of the 90’s. Take on the roles of in-game players taking on the roles of their characters in a traditional pen and paper RPG session in the ultimate meta roleplaying experience. As both the playing characters AND the dungeon master, players can choose which battles to fight. Put together a bunch of monsters to make for a challenging fight and your efforts will be equally rewarded!”

They recently released a major update which gave me an additional 20+ hours of gameplay. Below is a snapshot I did because, hey, it made me laugh.

Tuesday, 2:53pm – matt

well that was quite the celebration, and despite copyright violations from Kanye West’s “Celebration” I am in process of uploading a mini vid from the groomsmen side, hopefully up and running soon…

as Gavin mentioned I did get Ricky as special gift un top of the standard wedding present for himself and his lovely wife, our mutual friend in Montreal and I chipped in and got Ricky a PS4 when it comes out, pre-ordered of course…

Ricky and my friendship was not only forged on the streets of Quebec playing street hockey and getting high helping the elderly, but also in the open fields of Hyrule, panning a 360 degree instant replay of a ridiculous Vince Carter dunk at nausea, and of course, in the streets of Liberty City. despite Ricky moving to Toronto we still see each other a fair bit, and we know we can always find each other even if just for a quick chat by hopping onto the xbox or ps.

with that being said he’s now a married man, and we wanted to make sure he has no excuse not to play a few games online with a buddy or two.

Monday, 1:19pm – Albert

What a trip! It was LEGEN-(i’m so tired from traveling and back to work early I need a latte with)-DARY (also that’s what my cufflinks said) Congrats again to the happy couple!

I was introduced into the world of the Wii-U which really skewed my initial perception of the console. The graphics were stunning. The gameplay looked smooth and I realized that Gavin is a super hero at that game. Or maybe I just suck, but I want to say it’s most likely a combination of both. So not only a master of speeches (with a specialty in gaming speeches), but a master in platformers.

In regards to Gavin’s question about how does our SO/roommates handle our gaming obsession, I am similar to him. It has been a process of negotiation but its been more of an understanding. One piece of advice I can give is that you should give warnings. The one that springs to mind is that 1 month before Skyrim came out, I told my SO that I would be out of commission for a couple of weeks. Then when it came out I was VERY out of commission but it came as no surprise. I think those thinking of purchasing GTA V should probably heed my warning/advice… or y’know.. set up an OKCupid account now so you’re ready.

Monday, 9:00am – Gavin

Well, here we are, not two days removed from Ricky’s wedding, and he’s off doing some honeymooning stuff, so I’m going to get us started this week.  It was a fairly quiet week on the site last week, as everyone involved was prepping for the wedding and making the travels to Toronto.  I hosted Albert at my place and introduced him to the world of New Super Mario Bros. U, and Ricky kindly gifted us very nerdy cufflinks – I don’t recall what Albert got, but I got some Triforce cufflinks, matt got Spiderman, Preezie got the Half-Life lambda, and they were great quality.  An amazing and thoughtful gift, for sure, but I think that matt may be able to say something with regards to his present for Ricky.  I’ll let him break that one, though.

Ricky asked me to post my introduction to his and his wife’s speech.  Half of the crowd thought it was weird, or that I was having a stroke.  The other half appeared to be quite enjoying it.

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s time for Ricky and Dana’s first official speech as husband and wife.  I had a Crysis, trying think of a good way to introduce them.  But then, I guess it just hit me – just talk about them.  Truly, their love is a Fable; they are a Bastion of happiness.  At this point, their lives are intertwined tightly and inseparably, like a Braid.  Where they were both once separate and in Limbo, what seems like Half a Life ago and a FarCry from where they are now, they found each other and their two lives became one under the NightSky, Faster Than Light.  They have opened the Portal to their future, and I am so proud of them, with Just Cause. Ladies and gentlemen, truly we are in the Company of Heroes, Ricky and Dana.  And at the end of the night, when they are the Last of Us still here, they will discover that their Journey is just beginning.  Ladies and gentlemen, Ricky and Dana.  Spec Ops: The Line.

In the spirit of the wedding theme, if you’ve got someone special in your life, or if you live with roommates (one or more of whom may be special), how do you handle your gaming hobby/obsession?  Do you find that you’re able to game as much?  Less?  Inexplicably more?  It’s been a process of negotiation between myself and my wife, as she’s not much of a gamer at all, but respects that I am.  She’s generally OK with me playing a little bit, but prefers that I spend time with her during the week, so during the school year (she’s a teacher), she spends most of her Sundays elbow-deep in marking and lesson planning, the time for which I use to enjoy my games.  God help me if I have a game with annoying sounds though – that will drive her up the wall.  Ludwig’s Clockwork Castle in NSMBU drove her insane, as I kept dying at the same part.

