Yup, this is going up a day late. Sorry about that, but nothing happened yesterday anyway… I hope…

However, today, May 21st, is the reveal of the newest console from Xbox. The NextBox, the Xbox 720, the Xbox Infinity, whatever you want to call it, as of 1pm EST today, we’ll know what Microsoft wants to call it. More importantly, we’ll know why Microsoft wants us to care about their new console.

Friday, 6:10 pm – matt

The Xbox One launch was one of the more disappointing things Ive waited for in recent memory, and by “wait for” i mean I had an amazing vacation from the date the announcement was made until the actual launch itself. Since PS4 blew the doors of the next gen announcement last month, I (along with millions of others) were waiting for microsofts response, which was little more of a response and more “yeah, were going to keep on what we’re doing…” Since the Xbox 360 launch over 8 years ago, we have seen the most dedicated gaming machine of the previous generation and see it ruined into one giant FLASH ad for other content. you literally cannot turn on the Xbox and play a game without being bombarded with advertisements. I have been clamoring for years about the need for a console that turns on, accepts a videogame disc, and plays it. Sure it may be wishful thinking in todays 24/7 always on, always engaging, always in your face age of the internet, but when did internet connection=advertisement?

after the terribly built (anyone who claims the Xbox was well built I have three dead systems for you to buy) previous generation, I honestly want my console to be on as little as freaking possible, so what does microsoft introduce? tv through the XBOX! Perfect! now i can have my system heat up and burn up precious lifetime playing Seinfeld reruns so I can tweet how funny shows form back in the day are? you know what the best way of switching from tv to gaming for me is? HIT THE FUCKING INPUT BUTTON INSTEAD OF THE XBOX CONTROLLER YOU LAZY ASS FUCKING PIECES OF SHIT

Friday, 8:25 am – Ricky

2013 Backlog Challenge update!

I’ve purchased all 3 of my games for the year. SimCity, Game Dev Tycoon, and now, the Collector’s Edition of Grand Theft Auto V.

Current stats:
– Total games: 3
– Total purchase amount (before tax and shipping): $248
– Average price per game: $82.66
– Total play time for existing games in possession: ~ 20
– Total games regretted: 1
– Total games that made me feel warm and fuzzy when I purchased them: 1
– Total games that made me puke at their price, then buy it anyway because whatever, it’s still less than I spent in the 2012 Steam Winter sale: 1

Thursday, 12:44 pm – Ricky

Rockstar has FINALLY announced two limited edition sets for Grand Theft Auto 5: a Special edition ($80) and a Collector’s edition ($150!?!?! DAMMIT!). You can read about it on the official Rockstar site, but here are the highlights.

The Grand Theft Auto V Special Edition includes:

  • Full retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V
  • Collectible SteelBook with Exclusive Artwork
    This special SteelBook features double-sided, never-before-seen artwork of Michael, Trevor and Franklin. Custom color and metallic treatments bring out the detail of the artwork created exclusively for this SteelBook.
  • Blueprint Map
    This exclusive, additional 21.5” x 26.75” map displays a blueprint view of Los Santos and Blaine County. Cryptic markings indicate locations for fast cash and other points of interest for the up-and-coming entrepreneur.
  • Special Ability Boost
    Michael, Franklin and Trevor each have a unique special ability. With this boost, the special ability bar will generate 25% faster.
  • Stunt Plane Trials
    Single player Stunt Plane Trials let you take on additional aerial challenges spread throughout Los Santos and Blaine County.
  • Bonus Outfits, Tattoos and More
    Michael, Franklin and Trevor get bonus outfits in their wardrobes, character specific tattoos at tattoo parlors, and special deals from shopkeepers across Los Santos and Blaine County.
  • Additional Weapons
    When visiting Ammunation stores in single player, merchants will have special weapons in their inventory available for free: the Pistol .50, Bullpup Shotgun and melee Hammer.

actual_1369261683

The Grand Theft Auto V Collector’s Edition includes all the contents of Grand Theft Auto V Special Edition as described above plus:

  • Grand Theft Auto V Security Deposit Bag with Logo Key
    Inspired by the heists in Grand Theft Auto V, this custom 10.75” x 8.5” money bag features a pop-up style lock and laser cut logo key to secure important items. The reverse side features a pressed Rockstar Games logo on the security mount with a framed ID window.
  • Grand Theft Auto V New Era 9FIFTY™ Snapback Cap
    This exclusive New Era 9FIFTY™ cap features an embroidered Los Santos logo on the front, a stitched, black Rockstar Games logo on the wearer’s left side, a Grand Theft Auto ‘V’ logo applique on the opposite side, and snapback closure for an adjustable fit.
  • Custom Characters for Grand Theft Auto Online
    Get classic Grand Theft Auto characters to use within the Grand Theft Auto Online Character Creation System.
  • Unique Vehicles and Garage Property
    Players will instantly receive a garage to store custom vehicles. In single player, the garage will be stocked with the 1930’s style Hotknife hotrod and the CarbonRS sports bike. In Grand Theft Auto Online, players will get the high-end Khamelion electric car.

actual_1369261754

Thursday, 12:34 pm – Ricky

I think that sums it up pretty accurately. SMART GLASS!

I played Diablo 3 last night. I started my butcher run and made it about 15 minutes in before I need to pick myself up and go do something productive, but I did enjoy those 15 minutes while they lasted. Maybe it’s because the game is good, or maybe it’s because I haven’t had a hint of gaming in my life for a couple of weeks.

Still, I don’t think I’ll fall back down the Diablo 3 rabbit hole – I’d actually prefer starting up and trying out Torchlight 2 instead. But that’ll have to wait, since I have a pretty good idea of what I want to play next: The Walking Dead. I also want to mix in some Monaco: What’s Yours Is Mine with the crew. We’ll see what kind of time I have next week, as this weekend is already booked up with family time and out-of-town guests. Yay adulthood!

Wednesday, 3:21 pm – Albert

I only caught the revealing of the machine and I pretty much went on with my day asking Ricky to alert me to anything interesting that happened at the event. Needless to say, he did not message me at all. I was going to check out a highlights video and I found this… maybe those who watched can tell me how accurate this video is…

In other news, I’ve been playing Reus which is a strategy/sim. You control giants (rock, forest, ocean) who help shape the world around you. For instance, the ocean giant creates (no way) ocean spots for you. Place a forest there next to the water to gain trees and create that environment. Place a mountain with the rock giant and it creates a desert. By creating these environments eventually villages are created and you can use the giants other powers, such as creating a domestic animals, fruits, and whatnot this helps develop the village. Every aspect has its place and you’ll be constantly trying to balance food, money, and population. I’ve only played about 2 hours of the tutorial but  it seems fun so far.

I spent another hour in Project Zomboid’s alpha: busting windows and climbing into houses to loot things while batting zombie heads into the air. They finally added a save feature so i’ll pick up where I left off. I haven’t been able to find a gun yet which is disappointing but I did witness an alarm go off and all the zombies get drawn to it. Oh yeah – that was me breaking into a house. You can jump out of windows too FYI.

Wednesday, 8:00 am – Ricky

Here’s the thing: The Xbox One reveal wasn’t meant for me. EA came out and talked about gaming franchises I no longer buy. Microsoft talked about live TV integration that’s only available in the US at launch. Activision showed off their “revolutionary” new engine for Call of Duty Ghosts, another franchise I’m no longer interested in. Exclusive content was announced from FIFA and Call of Duty, and Quantum Break was teased, one of 15 new first party titles scheduled to be released in the next 12 months.

This press conference wasn’t geared towards me.

I heard Microsoft say the words “smart” and “glass” at least half a dozen times. I saw Mattrick show off the features of the Kinect – now included with every system. I watched as fantasy football stats were displayed side-by-side with a “live” football game.

I. Don’t. Care.

Call me a jaded old person, but I want my video game console for video games. It’s nice that they’re trying to change the face of the decades-old TV market, but I’m more interested in the ever-growing and innovative video game market. That said, E3 is 18 days away, and I expect we’ll hear more about the 15 new first party titles and various other exclusives coming to the system. I just hope they aren’t all Kinect games or mini-game collections.

Comparing systems at this point is pretty tough, but Sony definitely did a better job of getting me excited about the Playstation 4.

Tuesday, 4:26 pm – Gavin

So, the Xbox One is out.  I’m not crazy about the name, but I’m sure it will grow on me.  It just seems that Microsoft has a problem with counting.  3.1, 95, 98, 2000, 7, 8.  Blank, 360, One.  No consistency!  It kills me.

I only caught about 45 minutes of the reveal before I had to haul ass into a non-video gaming meeting.  It reminded me somewhat of the PS4 reveal in that there was remarkably little attention paid to the actual gaming component of it.  We saw previews for CoD: Ghosts, and we saw some in-depth stuff about that with respect to facial animations and mocap.  But otherwise, we saw a lot of ancillary non-gaming stuff, some NFL integration, a metric buttload of cutscenes under the guise of EA saying “here are our games!”

Seriously, I was genuinely surprised at how little focus there was on actual end-user gaming.  With the PS4 reveal, we at least saw gameplay footage of Killzone and Knack.  Not so much on this end.  I know E3 is only a couple of weeks away, but the first introduction to your product shouldn’t let me down – don’t make me actively seek out media related to your product in order for me to get excited about it.  You may call me a lazy consumer, but I don’t have an active reason to buy an Xbox One.  Don’t make me search for one – give it to me outright.  That’s your job as a marketer.

I was somewhat underwhelmed by the PS4, but I just don’t care about the One.

Tuesday, 3:55 pm – Ricky

I’ll post some more thoughts about the #XboxReveal of Xbox One later tonight, but here’s a fun graph that does a good job explaining my feelings. Jace Hall illustrates Sony’s stock today:

945550_10152877031925492_2029204006_n

Tuesday, 8:11 am – Ricky

Here it is, another weekly post! Huzzah. Check back here around 2pm for our views on the reveal news.

