Yep, it’s the Steam Summer Sale. And man, our wallets are feeling it. Check out last week’s post for details on the first few days, and follow us here this week where we share what we’ve bought and haven’t bothered to play are digging into! Plus, new podcast coming this weekend finally!

Sunday, 4:13 pm – POD! …cast

The Summer Hiatus Ends (and it’s a freaking long one)

Gamentary Round 7 – July 16 2012 (right click and “Save As” to download the mp3, or use the player below)

Sunday, 3:42 pm – Albert

Last day of the Steam sales! Indie Bundle XI: Hydrophobia: Prophecy, ORION: Dino Beatdown, Star Ruler, Waveform, and World of Goo.

World of Goo is a lot of fun, i’ve played it on iOS and it’s a fun puzzle game!

Since the Steam sale is almost over, it’s time to get to playing! Look for some videos in the near future showcasing some multiplayer goodness.

Until then, i’m going to 100% Saints Row 3. Excuse me.

Friday, 3:43 pm – Albert

Happy Friday everyone!

Great to hear that the Vita is doing well  matt! To be honest, I was thinking that mobile consoles were nearly run out the door by mobile games on our phones. I’m glad to hear that it’s holding up well. I was seriously considering a Vita on my long voyage, but I ended up just bringing my cell and my tablet and that was good enough for me at least. I know FOR SURE that Ricky has been playing a crazy amount of Fifa on his Vita and has loved it just as much as you have.

Today is day 9 of the Steam Summer sale with the Indie Bundle being: Capsized, Jamestown, Revenge of the Titants, VVVVVV, and Zeno Clash. All are platformers except for Zeno  Clash, so if you’re looking for some platforming goodness, look no further. Jamestown looks the most interesting to me. Reminds me of the good ole arcade plane shooting games.

Crysis 2 is on sale and Civ V which, if you haven’t bought it, stop reading this and go buy it and kiss your social life goodbye.

Magicka is on sale and Ricky and I really played a lot of that and it was funny, but after a while it kinda hurt my soul. I can’t really explain it, but maybe it had to do with the frustrating controls but the concept kept us around to at least finish it. Besides that it’s a constant watch on flash deals (which is probably the most addictive part of the Steam Sales)

Podcast is happening tonight, so get ready for some commentary of games… eh? See what I did there?

Thursday, 1:10 pm – matt

Ive been conspicuously absent from recent posting, but have been busy wrapping things up at my old job and trying to get ready for the new one. playing a lot of gravity rush because i dont have a pc and dont play steam games. gravity rush is a super sick ps vita exclusive that allows gamers to bend gravity, fly through the air, walk on walls and ceilings, and kick some ass. great game, tough for a wide audience being on a portable handheld but with the numerous incentives to buy a vita lately theres a growing library of titles to further tempt those on the fence. ask ricky about fifa.

Thursday, 10:31am – Gavin

We’ve all been there.

Wednesday, 5:35 pm – Albert

That describes my wallet exactly. I just bought todays Indie Bundle VII – Avadon: The Black Fortress, Dungeons of Dredmor, Q.U.B.E., Vessel, and Zombie Driver – along with Super Meat Boy and Bastion.

As you may have noticed I keep listing the daily Indie Bundle because i’m trying to follow Gavin and Ricky’s love for Indie Games, so I figure now is the best time to get some indie fun time!

I also just bought every single piece of DLC for Saints Row 3. There were 18 of them… its that good! I’m excited!

In other news, I dinged level 60 in Diablo 3! Something that has been long coming. The difficulty has been ridiculous, especially for a Wizard to survive more than one hit in Hell, so now that i’m in Inferno, it’s only getting worse.

So apparently the whole game changes now that i’m in Inferno and death will happen. Which doesn’t really change anything for me. But anyways, after reaching level 60 I went to play the Auction game which is very necessary. I revamped my entire character with items that had at least +100 intelligence, +to all resistances (something I read which is dramatically important), +vitality, +magic find and +critical chance and +critical hit and have put my current items in my stash ready to be sold. I checked a couple of skill builds and this is the one i’m trying first.

Lets hope it works out! If not, there is always the Steam library…

Wednesday, 3:11pm – Gavin

Speaking of wallets crying out in terror and then being suddenly silenced…

http://i.imgur.com/icEfR.gif

Tuesday, 5:19 pm – Albert

Wicked Setup Gavin! I cannot wait to see that sometime. Portal eh? I’ve put that on my favourite list to play on Steam but because of the sales… it isn’t looking good. Speaking of…

Indie Bundle VI – AaaaaAAaaaAAAaaAAA, Defcon, SpaceChem, Ticket to Ride,  and Trauma

I think Ticket to Ride is the only one i’ve played and it’s pretty damn good. I kinda prefer the boardgame though.

I completed the story line and 89% of Saints Row 3 which in my mind, means i’ve beaten Saints Row 3. The game overall definitely exceeded my expectations. I know some might be dismissing it as childish and overthetop, which it is, but the approach that the developers took and the gameplay make it a stellar game. It’s not serious and allows the player to just go on fun tangents. Getting a tank delivered to you in the middle of a battle, or having a SWAT team bursting into a fight to help you just doesn’t get any better. Beat up some civilians with adult toys! Hit EVERYONE below the belt with your gun, feet, fists, bats… y’know… everything. Have gun fights in the middle of the air with tanks falling from the sky… take over cars by remote, call in airstrikes, do whaever you want. It’s… glorious.

Play it dammit!

Tuesday, 4:12pm – Gavin

Straight from Reddit, but I think this is a really neat decal for a Mac.

Shortly after this picture was taken, the owner was consumed by a spider.

Tuesday, 12:07pm – Gavin

I’ve got free run of the house for the next few days, so it’s time to enjoy some games.  I’ve been working on Portal 2 for a bit now, and I have no idea how far into it I am, but I just fell to the bottom of a huge shaft (TWSS).  The game-play is just as good as the first one (don’t fix it if it isn’t broken), and the environments are great.  I do have a note about the humour in the game, which is what really set the first one apart.  I will quote (or thoroughly bastardize) Yahtzee from Zero Punctuation here, who described Portal 2 as humour in a broader sense; more of a “custard pie to the face instead of a snooker cue to the bollocks”.  I am still enjoying the humour, but I preferred the approach in the first one, where you don’t know if GlaDOS is insane, sinister, a complete sociopath, or out to get you.  GlaDOS in the second one is much more malicious and while she has better lines this time around, I preferred her delivery in the first one.  There also appears to be a technical difference in the way her voice is presented – she sounds more human than digitized, and part of the charm of Portal 1 was that it sounded like a basic voice synthesizing coupled with a fantastic processor.  Now the voice synthesizing sounds much more realistic and human, and that’s affecting it a bit for me.

Stephen Merchant is great so far.  When I first saw the trailers, I was doubtful about how that kind of character would work in the Portal environment, but Merchant’s voice acting has won me over for sure.  It’s not that his lines are spectacular or anything, but Merchant’s delivery is terrific.

With the wife gone, I’ve hooked up the PC to my television and I’ve been enjoying gaming that way.  The resolution isn’t as good but it honestly doesn’t bother me at all – no artifacts, no ghosting, no problems – just the lower resolution of the comparatively poor television.  The game isn’t fast-twitch so far, so my mouse on lap-desk, keyboard on cushion solution is working.

Quality’s not great, but you can see what I’m working with here.

Monday, 2:29pm – Gavin

Well, 54 hours later, I’ve finally beaten Zelda: Skyward Sword.  It was ludicrous, and my final battle was incredibly tense, but I did it.  Now I’m stupidly spoiled for choice on my next game.  Someone who really wants my wife to leave me gifted me a copy of Skyrim, and I’ve also got Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Just Cause 2, Amnesia, Half Life 2 Episode 1, and Portal 2, amongst others.  In the end, Portal 2 won out and so I cracked into that yesterday.  Looks great so far, only an hour in though.  The humour is definitely different, and I do notice a few audio differences (GlaDOS’s voice seems a bit less synthesized this time around.  Not sure how i feel about that, but Stephen Merchant’s voice is regular, so I suppose it shouldn’t matter.  The puzzles are just as much fun though, and I’m looking forward to cracking into the multiplayer.

I’ve also started a legacy run of Deus Ex, to get myself back into the canon.  I should just watch videos and save my time for actually playing HR, but dammit, I love DE too much not to do that.  Plus this is the first time I’ve played it on a computer that can actually max it out (yes, my old laptop was THAT BAD), so it looks fantastic.  Also, it’s Game of the Year edition, so there’s expanded dialogue.

So far, I’m doing alright with the Summer Sale.  The only thing I’ve bought (aside from the Skyrim gift) is a copy of Batman: Arkham Asylum for a friend.  I’m holding off until the end to grab Jade Empire.  It’s currently 50% off, but I’m wondering if there’s going to be a Bioware flash sale that will bump up the discount.  I mean, it’s dirt cheap as it is, but $2.75 is $2.75.  Better to have it than not. Big deals today – Dear Esther, Metro 2033, and KOTOR all 75% off.  Fable 3 is also discounted that much, but take it from the world’s biggest Peter Molyneux apologist – Fable 3 is not worth your money.  It will aggravate you.  The one amazingly beautiful cutscene of them crossing the desert is NOT WORTH IT.

Happy shopping, folks!

Monday, 10:14 am – Ricky

These flash sales and community votes have made checking Steam just as addictive as buying new icons – I mean – new games to look at – I mean – new games to play next year – I mean – Ah, fuck it.

