Yeah, we have him back. He put out a great recap of some mobile games last week, so check that out.

Gavin had another good post about Skyward Sword.

matt has been absent with Gravity Rush details.

Preezie has fallen off the face of the planet for a while.

I’m still playing Diablo. What else is new?

Nothing. This week will be slow. Again.

Sunday, 9:02 pm – Ricky

A late-week post to wrap up has been a stellar 7 days. That Steam sale got all of our loins in a tizzy (except for matt, but he is WP… Without PC) and we still have until the 23rd! What games are you folks waiting for still? Here’s what I picked up:

– Max Payne 3: I’ve been a huge MP fan since it first dropped in the early 2000s. I spent many an hour slow-mo jump-diving while blazing my guns and snapping screenshots to share with friends over ICQ. Max has made it into a new era of graphics, and if the 29GB download I’m now enduring is any indication, I’m in for a helluva ride.

– Tropico 4 (bundle with all DLC): I once sent Albert a message that I bought Tropico 3 and couldn’t wait to play it. I then played it for 15 straight hours until 4am. On a Tuesday. I then promptly uninstalled it for fear of losing my girlfriend, career and social circle. Picking up Tropico 4 seems like a good idea, though.

– Toy Soldiers: When this was out on XBLA, I was just getting into PC games again and really leaving my Xbox behind. I was getting used to having cheap games, plus catching up on a number of games I’d missed out on from being “out of the loop”. I’d heard great things about the game, so when it popped up for under $3, I know I had to collect its icon.

Speaking of collecting icons… I’m at 347 games on Steam. Go me… Let’s see what else I can add over the coming week!

Sunday, 2:39 pm – Albert

Indie Bundle IV today on Steam includes: A Valley Without Wind, Atom Zombie Smasher, Blocks That Matter, Sanctum and Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP!

I’ve heard about the praises of Atom Zombie Smasher from Ricky and have read about how great Sword and Sworcery so I think the decision to purchase it will be pretty easy.

In other news, i’m level 59.5 in Diablo 3! Preezie pulled some late night demon killing with me to bring this newbie closer to the ultimate goal. Then it will start my addiction to Diablo 3 all over again! JOY!

Saturday 9:31 pm – Albert

What up! I completely understand where you are coming from matt. I believe Saints Row was originally created just to be a San Andreas clone and cash in on the popularity of the open world concept. But over the years it’s evolved tremendously to its credit and it’s really come into its own. I enjoy GTA as well, but there is a time and place for both games. GTA is more for story, and realism. SR3 is more for fucking around. I cannot put it in more elegant words. SR3 doesn’t take itself as seriously as the GTA series always has and that’s when you can incorporate airstrikes, dildo beatings, and gimp suits (reminds me a bit of Postal). It’s still on sale on Steam…. strap it on matt, strap it on…

As for Deus Ex: Human Revolution, I have to give a thumbs up to that. I played it quite a while and I really enjoyed it. If you loved the originals, you’ll love this one. It definitely brought back the cyberpunk style and with it great gameplay and for some reason, the incredible urge to hack every computer and explore every air vent…

I need to play Portal…

In Steam related news, Indie Bundle III and today’s slew of deals are out: Bit.Trip.Beat, Braid, Bunch of Heroes, Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet, and Runespell: Overture are in today’s bundle. I bought it mainly for ITSP which i’ve heard about. (as you can see, i’m trying to come up to Ricky’s 300++ catalogue of games. Only 245++ to go!)

Besides that Skyrim is on sale for $30 and for the next 3:22 minutes, Witcher 2 is on sale for $15.99. Those are probably the most steller discounts. Still cheap Max Payne 3 too!

Saturday 10:24 am – matt

girls.

I can’t believe you like those saints rows games, I always got turned off by the over the topness that was the gta clone, but is insanely popular franchise. I noticed Gavin posed a “what should I buy” question, and I would have to go with portal, not the longest game, but probably the most enjoyable. I haven’t had the chance to play new deus ex though, and half life is so old at this point…

I haven’t had the time to play any games this week, aside from wicked session of singstar in which I absolutely killed 10 CC’s “Dreadlock Holiday”…

Friday, 1:30 pm – Albert

Steam Sales! You’re right Gavin, too many deals.. but that’s like saying there are too many games.

Indie Bundle II – Botanicula, E.Y.E: Divine Cybermancy, Oil Rush, Splice, and Universe Sandbox.

I just bought HOARD, Terraria (Thanks Ricky), and From Dust for less than $10.00. Not bad not bad! My first steam sale, so i’ve been like a fat kid in a candy store.

I just started playing Saints Row 3 as well! It’s been really fun and I understand why so many people chose it as their GOTY. It is a very funny game and doesn’t take itself very seriously which is refreshing. Great gameplay and funny dialogue make this a great combo. I’ve played all the previous Saints Row games and this is by far the best one… but you already knew that… didn’t you?

Friday, 1:20pm – Gavin

Too…many…deals…

I’ve got a very limited budget this time around, so I will need to use much more discretion this time. Fable 1 and Jade Empire are both 50% off, so those will end up in my account. Today, Max Payne 3 is 50% off, as is Anno 2070. I have enough in my account that I’ll skip a lot of this sale though.

The wife is leaving for a few days on Sunday, so I’ll have some dedicated time to hopefully finish up Skyward Sword. Nothing much left to do except the last two dungeons – I think I’ve wrapped everything else up. I have enjoyed the living hell out of it, but I look forward to a new challenge. What AAA title should I play next? Just Cause 2, Portal 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, or Deus Ex: Human Revolution? Or perhaps I’ll reacquaint myself with Deus Ex canon and play the first one. Decisions, decisions.

Thursday, 8:02 pm – Ricky

Steam Sale buying rules are in full effect people. You do not, repeat, DO NOT purchase a game that is NOT a Daily or Flash deal. There are many games that are discounted throughout the sale period (like Max Payne at 33% off) but there is still a chance these games will be further reduced at some point. So keep that wallet in your pocket, yo.

For my part, I think I’ll be escaping Day 1. I’m waiting for Tropico 4, Max Payne 3 and maybe something I don’t know I want yet. I already have the games Albert listed below in the Indie Bundle 1, but I might pick up Terraria for $2.50 on sale.

Oh god, this is just day 1. What are we going to do??

Thursday, 1:57 pm – Albert

While this week might have started slow, this is the point where it gets a lot better for us… Games wise.. that is…

STEAM SUMMER SALE is upon us. About 45 minutes ago the flood gate has opened up and we have the anticipated steamy goodness all over our chests. Yeah. I just said that.

Day 1: Anomaly Warzone Earth, The Baconing, Cave Story+, EDGE, Lone Survivor…

Get at it.

I’ll also have been downloading a lot of games from GOG.com because I just want to consume. Theme Hospital, Dungeon Keeper and Ultima IV were the first to be on my download list. It was my first time purchasing from GOG.com and it has been running smoothly. They’re having some great sales too.

I swear I am not paid by anyone for endorsing these products. Man am I a shill.

On a different non-spending note, check this video of Hitman Absolution…. I miss that past E3 which shows a 17 min video demo of one mission. It blew my mind. I cannot wait for this to come out.

Don’t forget, badass hitmen don’t look at explosions.

Wednesday, 8:01 pm – Ricky

Wow. I don’t know what siren call summoned back the pack of nerds, but awesome!

Just jumping in here to enrage Preezie a bit more – I haven’t even MADE IT to Act 2 Inferno yet, so yeah, he’s farmed it at least 10 times more than I have. I’ve been having a bit of success with the Auction House, but I feel like I’m spending a lot of time researching beforehand, so that offsets my playtime a bit.

And I picked up FIFA Street after an extended play session with Albert. I think that dude is on EA payroll or some shit. He should just move to Edmonton next to their studio and be done with it.

Just to whet the appetite, here’s some FIFA 13 gameplay footage, with the game dropping September 28th this year.

Tuesday, 9:11 pm – Preezie

Welcome back Albert! I would say you were missed but I told myself I’d cut down on lying. JUSSSTTT KIDDINNGGG. Sorry it’s been a while (I feel like thats what I start most of my posts with 😦 ) but summer is beer drinking weather and I get lazy when I drink. Haha.. well since my last post I’ve made it to Act II of Inferno on Diablo 3 with my level 60 Monk. His stats are pretty boss but at this point I have a feeling blizzard made the game nearly impossible to play solo. Rolling with a good crew (which isn’t as hard to find as I thought) is pretty bad ass. Ricky has had more luck than me at the auction house selling an amulet for 1.1mill. I haven’t sold anything for more than 550K and I’m sure I’ve farmed Act II ten times more than he has. GRRRRRRRRRR. What a luckbox. Preezie#1672 if anyone is looking to run with a sexy monk… who bitches alot when he finds LEVEL 20 RARES IN INFERNO.

Deep breath.

I also got to play some Fifa Street with Albert. That game is awesome. I told Albert its almost like 4 different games in 1. All those modes have really different feelings to them which means a great bang for your buck. The game seems really intricate but getting a handle on the controls really isn’t that hard. I went from scoring on myself (yes, i actually did) to do pretty cool tricks in under 3 or 4 hrs. We played a little last man standing yesterday and I pulled off a pretty sweet combo 2v1. I juggled the ball for a bit and then tapped it over the head of the 1st defender while I ran around him and then spun around the 2nd defender and finished it off with a Ronaldo-esque Rabona. I’ve only played this game for a few hours and that was already the pinnacle of my very storied video game soccer career. Haha. Hopefully we’ll be able to upload a few videos soon. I think I’m gonna try to grab the game sometime this weekend. Thanks for the recommendation Bert!

Tuesday, 4:01 pm – Albert

Heyyyooo! I’m back in the saddle. I DO remember when we used to play games and podcast about them!

Strangely enough I have been playing a game. It’s called Fifa Street!

Fans of the Fifa franchise will be pleased to know that a lot of the skills from Fifa 12 will be transferable. There are some additions to the controls which include “Street Ball Control” and the “Flair Modifier”. These are welcome additions that help control the ball and help destroy your opponents. Three ways to beat your opponents consist of Air Beats, Pannas (putting the ball between your opponents legs) and normal beats i.e. rainbow flicks, flip-flaps, or stepovers.

Most of your time will be spent on World Tour which is basically the story mode. You start making a squad of 6 players and start on the regional stage and work your way up to the world stage. If you’ve played this years Fifa 12, you’re own created character can be imported into this game which makes it quick to get started.

I’ve really enjoyed this game because it appeals to my sports side and also my RPG side. You level your character and your squad (with full customization of clothes and gear) and depending on how well you do in your matches you put these points into Defense, Dribbling, Passing, Shooting, etc.

There are a wide variety of different matches including: 5-A-Side, Panna Rules (where you bank points based on street moves), Futsal, Last Man Standing, and a wide variety of options to create your own custom matches.

Check out the videos below! If you’re still unsure, download the free demo!

Game Modes

World Tour Mode

Monday, 1:20 pm – Ricky

Man, remember when we used to play games and podcast about them? Good times.

